http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2003 10:31 am )

>And when this spark of youth someday surrenders

Today's day is shedding doom and gloom right from the kick-off: I was dreaming disturbing dreams about not having enough money to pay my part of the restaurant check and yelling at my dining companions to "fucking wait a minute!". So one came back and taunted me about wearing "double corderoy"--which I don't, but still. And then, now, awake, an email from one of my Big Chain Bookstore co-workers (I was excited that we exchanged email addresses--like, ooh, maybe I'll have a FRIEND! And he has a fiancee, so it's not a creepy, really-macking-on-me friend) informing me of the impossibility of getting time off in December. But cousin Derrick's wedding is in December, and I'll quit if I have to, but I'm-a goin to that wedding.

Nevertheless, things might be looking up, because 1)I have food in the house, 2)my only plans for the day are birthday present shopping for my two loves, Juney and Ruby, 3)I was invited to a fun-sounding birthday extravaganza for another co-worker on Thursday (see? FRIENDS! Or not. But, PARTY! With DRAG QUEENS!). Also I really must see Call to plan what we are doing this weekend. While I am confident in him, the king of eleventh hour inspiration, I still worry about it all, because that's my bag, man, worrying.

Cinnamon flavored yogurt: surprisingly not bad.

So in television news, I've been pleased with TLC's new daytime/reality show lineup. Before my old friend A Wedding Story, there is Second Chance, which is about high school or college sweethearts meeting up again, having romantic/weird/awkward dates, and then in the way of all TLC dating shows, having an epilogue that makes no sense, since real people don't follow dramatic/storytelling conventions. Like, they seem to be having a great time, in voice-overs they talk about love, they exchange rings, and then the epilogue is like "These two went back home and never spoke again." I also like Perfect Proposal, even though it is lame and boring and hosted by Paige Davis's younger sister (not really, but she could be) because the guys get so nervous when they actually have to do it. The proposals are all complicated, day-long things, but not all that creative. It's kind of like the Sims, where you have to make sure the other person is fed and rested and had some fun and in a good mood in order to assure a favorable response.

Top Three Favorite Wedding Story Episodes:

3. The one where the couple rides to the ceremony in a rented bus with the whole wedding party, drinking a case of Natty Light. Also includes wedding pictures with an iguana, plus the cute groom's mother crying while he's trying to get ready, recalling him on the first day of school.

2. The Boston couple who met on the T. Because they are both rich and attractive, and the groom totally loses it and starts sobbing during the vows. Grooms who can't hold it together are my favorite!

1. The classic, Grey & Murry (from the Old 97s) and their tasteful, countrified hipster cuteness. Murry has that Harry Potter/Where's Waldo charm, plus he's a great wimpy, sensitive romantic, and yet still an undercover rock star.

Yes, I have a problem with reality television.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )