http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Monday, Sept. 29, 2003 10:16 am )

>Lovesick, stupid, cold, and wet

I just did something about the large amount of list/spam emails I get, so I'm feeling very powerful and proactive right now, and I didn't even have to get out of my bathrobe or take a shower to do it! I will be doing those things shortly, and I hope they will increase my capacity to do useful things today.

Today I am so poor that I'm po, mostly because me and Callie-boy went camping over the weekend. We meant to go for three days, but our initial encroaching lateness delayed us for the first day, and then when we actually got there it was very cold and torrential rains flooded the tent, so we didn't stick around on that end of things either. We had even checked the weather forecast, seen the words "flood warning," and still decided that it seemed like a safer bet than the "severe thunderstorm warning" more westerly of us, at our first choice park, the "Grand Canyon of Pennsylvania" (there is also a Niagara Falls of Pennsylvania). And we also brought one thin fleece blanket in lieu of two warm, downy sleeping bags and two fluffy pillows. So the blanket went under us in an attempt to cover the large wet spots on the air mattress and my inadequate pink towel went over us, and though we were pressed together in a romantic and pathetic way, the towel coverage was insufficient. Man are we stupid. I would blame myself, but really, he has an Ivy League education; does Harvard teach you not to pitch your tent on a dry stream bed?

Not that I want to malign his outdoor-skills: he caught and cooked a fish for us, and built two fires that were practically under water. (Call's firestarting secrets: dryer lint and canola oil--flammable!)

Also, I loooooove him. I lurve him. I didn't realize this camping, but a couple weeks ago when he was lying in my bed singing Pavement songs to himself. Oh, dork o' my heart. I'll never be able to tell him, but hey, I'll tell you instead.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )