http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Saturday, Dec. 14, 2002 4:15 pm )

>Do you realize...

...that you have...the most...beautiful face?

Today I purchased my cousin Emma's Christmas present. Because of the lottery system used in my father's family, I was solely responsible for her holiday happiness this year, a daunting responsibility. Anyway, I never asked her what she wanted or anything, which would have made things easier but also boring. So I got her things that I would want if I were 13 years old and living in Alabama (besides a Fast-Acting Suicide Pill), and sucks to her if she don't like it. Anyway, I recall a really shitty (homemade) present I got from her mother (my aunt) for Xmas back when I was twelve, so I feel no guilt. Anyway, I got her a couple excellent YA reads (thanks to my personal library guru onepinksock) and a little (possibly too little) tank top at Urban Outfitters (from whence I took the free CD I got with purchase, because it had "Do You Realize"--Flaming Lips on it). Personally, I would be overjoyed to receive this exact gift, when I was 13 or tomorrow, but who knows what kids like? Alls I know is I am tasteful and cool as heck and she better recognize.

Meanwhile on earth, Baby Boy learned to crawl today, I'm going to a party tonight oh boy, and I still have to buy Christmas presents for my father and brother.

I've been rereading my Christmas-y books (speaking of which, off topic, for a long time I've been wanting Eloise at Christmastime because I have all the other Eloises--did you know they have faux-Eloises out now, written by a different author??--and I've been disappointed that no one has figured out all on their own that this would be a perfect present for me). Where was I? I've been rereading, Catcher and now Little Women. Little Women always makes me more good and polite for a little while after I've read it, and it also reminds me sadly of how when I was at college I used to pretend that I was talking to the characters from the book when I walked by this one campus building that I thought looked like where the Marches lived, and then next door I pretended the history building was the Laurences' house. That's the saddest thing I ever heard of, however it is true. Laurie was a great comfort when I was walking to something truly horrible, like Sociology taught by Professor Punkrocker.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )