http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Wednesday, Dec. 10, 2003 10:25 am )

>We'll drink a cup of kindness yet

So this year I'm not really all that enthused about the holiday season. One excellent reason is because I now work in the retail world and have to frequently restrain myself from threatening to "cut" ederly/crotchety customers. Usually by the end of my shift I have this reaction to every customer I come into contact with, and my mind urges me to action: "Oh no she did not just look at me like that when I told her I don't know what the 'blue book about ferret medicine' is! Hell no! Don't think I won't beat you to death with your own shoe, bitch. I'm craazy." Another reason is that everyone I know in Philly (or, rather, Juney and Call) are students, and therefore take off for a week around Christmas. I am taking off for a day, Christmas day. So not only do I not get to hang out at home, but I can't really look forward to getting back because nobody'll be here. Call's even iffy on being in Philly for New Year's (not his fault, as his sister arrives home on the 30th, and she lives on the other coast, so.). But seriously, the one year I would actually have someone to kiss at midnight, and he'll be kissing his moms instead.

Present-wise, I am rather excited about some things I have ordered for Call, since he's the only one I have done any shopping at all for. Which is bad, I realize. However, I think he'll really like his present, and if not, his birthday's in January, so I'll have another chance. Not to mention the other things I've bought recently, which, while ostensibly for me, are really for him as well, namely 1. lipstick, and 2. the pill. This sounds so bad, but it's not like I'm baking him a pie or some shit. Actually, I went over to his apartment the other day, and he was in the midst of roasting a chicken. If I could get him to darn my socks, he'd be perfectly domestic. "Darn your socks!" And....and this is the very last Call thing, I promise you....we were out on Saturday night, at this comedy show put on by the Home Movies guys (who loves Coach McGurk, show of hands?). We had just been at a coffeeshop talking about the New Year's difficulties, and I told him about my parents giving my brother and I fake new years when we were younger, at 8 pm, and suggesting (but not really) that we should have fake new year on the 2nd or something. And then just as we left the coffee place and were slipping along the sidewalk, a fireworks show suddenly started over the river, right in front of us, and he said "it's fake new year!" and kissed me.

Anyhoo, on Friday I'm heading out to St. Louis for my cousin Derrick's wedding, and I'm pretty psyched to go. This will be the first plane trip I've taken on my own, too. I quite enjoy traveling alone, especially when contrasted with traveling with my parents. I always used to tell myself, "you have to get out of this house, or else you'll end up just following your father around the airport until you're 80." I hate following my father around an airport. He walks too damn fast and weaves around and all. This time, brother, it's all me. Will I stop at the duty free shop? Who knows!

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )