http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Monday, Jun. 23, 2003 11:11 am )

>Dirty polaroids

So! Harry Potter! I had a fun night at Big Chain Bookstore, there until about 1:15 a.m. At first I was just plugging away, earlier in the night, doing normal and dull bookstore activities, until the other girl working on my floor came up to me with the basic message, "Everyone is having fun but us." After that, work was over for the both of us and we just went around enjoying the mayhem, watching the fair-to-middling shows (hypotist, costume contest), and messing around with the other workers, who were also standing around being useless and inappropriate. It was wicked fun. For a while I was ensnared in the photo booth, which involved a cardboard cutout, a polaroid, and a dearth of real customers. There are easily more pictures taken of staff than of children that night. I was also talked into (very easily talked into) taking an inappropriate picture with the Harry standee (OK, so I was "licking" his wand in a suggestive manner) that has since caused quite a stir among the people I work with, leading them to go "Heyyyyyyy, nice picture!" when they pass me. Embarrassing. Yet also amusing. I am the Britney of Big Chain Books. What a whore I am.

In other news, Juney and I have added to my "rooftop garden"--another Amish tomato plant and a little basil guy (also from the Amish). I am very excited and water profusely regardless of the fact that it is cold and rainy 75% of the time here.

Call was away for the weekend, but back now. He called me last night to say "I missed you" and "Did you clean my sink?" Curses! He caught me. I was pretty sure he wouldn't notice the sink, but I guess the absence of orange stuff in the bottom tipped him off. I mean, he said thank you, but I'm guessing he'll think twice about leaving the key with me again. Heh heh.

In other non-news, I went out to blow some birthday money on CDs yesterday, including Bjork--Vespertine, Beulah--The Coast is Never Clear, The Postal Service--Give Up, and The Pixies--Doolittle. I like the first two best so far, but the others may have to just wait and grow on me a bit. Nevertheless, new music is exciting.

I also just finished this book, Carrie Pilby, which was good. She suggests that a guy asking to know your middle name means that he likes you a lot, in the same way that guys observe whether a girl will lean over and unlock the driver's side door for them. Well, I added the car door example myself, but it's in some movie, isn't it? Is it John Cusack? But anyway, little tests is the point.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )