http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Friday, Jun. 20, 2003 10:44 am )

>Snobbery and camping out

Whoa! Hi folks! Really sorry it's been so long without writing. At first I was just being a lazy bitch, but then about a week ago we had a huge thunderstorm and one strike in particular sounded very close and seemed to have hit something vital, because all of a sudden my internet wasn't working. In my brother's diagnosis, my modem has shit the bed. And he's a frat boy, so if anybody knows about shitting the bed, it's bound to be him.

Anyway, I did write an entry on my computer last Saturday, upon the very exciting occasion of my 23rd birthday, but basically it may be lost to posterity because I'm restricted to using June's computer now until I sort out what's wrong with mine.

Currently I have most of the day ahead of me. I get to go into work at a conveniently advanced hour tonight, this being the official Harry Potter Night of Madness. I'm so looking forward to it, for real. Always nice to change things up a bit, even if I will have to wear plastic Harry glasses and possibly a witch hat. I'm not too anxious to read the book myself since I'm assuming it'll just be more of the same. The guys in the receiving department at the store have been reading copies of it (illegally) in the basement the past couple of days, which is how I know the following spoiler: Ron and Hermione kiss on page 402. OK, OK, not really. I just made that up. I really want to title this entry "Harry Potter Spoilers" and get a million hits though.

Last night I hung out with Cally since I'm working wicked late tonight and he's going hiking this weekend. It was an amusing time. We sort of wandered into a Quizzo, and played, and did unspeakably poorly, and snubbed Jelly Boy and a small selection of science geeks and affliated roommates, who I noticed were also there. Call at one point in our secret conferences, in which we made notes on a napkin, wrote out "Isn't Jelly Boy a shit?" and it was so amusingly insular. Let's snub all the geeks forever. I do still like Jelly Boy though, even if no one else does. On the way home we stopped for a scratch ticket at the gas station, and later happily discovered a "Free!" box of stuff in the foyer of his apartment, from which I got two classic Barbie figurenes and he took 3 shot glasses and a book of Robotman comics.

This morning he had to leave uncharacteristically early (before nine), so he left the key with me. I got up soon after he left, and I'm ashamed to admit that I could resist the urge to clean no longer. I loaded the dishwasher and cleaned the sink (which was turning orange, people--orange!) with comet. Hopefully he won't even notice. God help me if I ever find the broom, or a dust rag. But no, must be strong! Must resist! Anyway, so then I split, coming home to shower since he's been out of shampoo for two weeks. I swear to God, it's like going camping to stay over there. But in an entirely heartwarming way.

Now it's pouring out and I get to stay home and eat and repot my snapdragons all day. Hooray. I'll send reports of the Harry madness later!

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )