http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Monday, Jul. 07, 2003 12:56 pm )

>One of the tomato plants fell off the roof

OK, another two week delay in entries. Sorry about that. The lack of internet access in my own room is seriously cramping my style.

But anyway, how was your 4th? I had to work during the day (the slowest, boringest day ever, though I did get to spend a lot of time reading and talking with other bored employees), but then I bought a six pack and headed to a science geek party already in progress (ie. they were all drunk already when I got there, except for Juney, who had her wisdom teeth out on Monday, and was hepped up on percoset, though still in pain). The first thing I saw was a horrifying pile of crab bodies, the better part of a bushel, and Christopher and other geeks still hard at work on the remaining whole ones. One of the geeks taught me how to eat them, though I wasn't a big fan, and was disappointed that it wasn't necessary to use the little wooden mallets Gallagher-style. I wasn't expecting to see Call, since he had to tickets to a game at Yankee Stadium, but he did indeed show up three beers later, having slept through the necessary train to NY earlier in the afternoon. So that was nice, that he made it there. We headed up to the art museum to see the fireworks, where I was mostly distracted by a very very short guy (that I've seen in the bookstore with his very very short father) who was smoking a cigar and imitating the impressive skills of a group of children who were doing various synchronized dances that I'd never seen before.

This past Saturday I went out with bookstore people for the first time ever, and I think it went well, despite a few inopportune drunken comments from some of my more intoxicated co-workers. It was a good time and I got really drunk for less than $10, so hey! A good time for all!

Currently I am looking forward to this coming Saturday, cause that's when I'm going on vacation, going to the Cottage to see my family and all for a week. Mmm hmm, good times. Can't wait.

In other news, though it is hot and sunny as a bastard, Landlady Ellie is gone for the month, leaving Juney and I the run of the house, including air conditioning and DVD player, etc. It has been heavenly. As long as I don't kill her plants, everything is working out A-OK.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )