http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Wednesday, Oct. 23, 2002 10:37 am )

>The planets align

Yesterday I did two things, one of which is going to make you think you don't even know me anymore.

Well, actually three things, but one of those things was having dinner with the science geeks at an Indian restaurant, and if I talked about that, you'd go comatose. Although this one guy, Duke, was there, who reminds me of Philip Seymour Hoffman in every film he's ever been in. Except perhaps Magnolia. Maybe State and Main? One of the ones where he's jovial anyway.

In the early afternoon I ventured out to buy a lovely scuffed three drawer nightstand at the second hand store in our neighborhood. I have been visiting this store weekly in quest of said nightstand, and finally my planets aligned. They always have gospel music playing there, and on the walls they have enormous canvases depicting some of the trials of Christ, including a big, scarily foreshortened bloody cross, and Christ carrying his cross past a Philly city bus, also dramatically foreshortened as if in SEPTA promotional materials.

I spent much of the morning fixing up a resume and cover letter, and, believe it or not, I applied for a job. I know, I know. Very unlike me. However, I was on the University library web site the night before looking up books that I wanted Juney to get for me (all three of which I am now happily reading) and I noticed they had job listings. So I applied to be a second-shift clerk. It sounds like a lot of boring things, but a good variety of them, plus the hours will allow me to do other things with my time, plus I'd probably have to get a temp job/retail job if not this anyway, plus I would never have to wake up before dawn or go to bed before midnight, plus I could go out after work no problem, plus I could do freelance stuff in the mornings, plus I would have access to University services just like Junebug, plus I like libraries. So I hope I get it.

Today I am happy indeed, planning to read my books (Sarah Vowell, Neal Pollack (residual 215 interest), and Persuasion by my girl Janey A.), and go see Punch Drunk Love by my lonesome. I like days full of media.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )