http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Monday, Oct. 21, 2002 5:56 pm )

>In the middle in the middle in the middle

Juney's friend--(I'm getting so tired of thinking of pseudonyms for everyone I know! It's exhausting, plus I know some day soon I'm going to slip up and call them by their made-up name in real life)--OK, Juney's friend and fellow science geek Anise was over for dinner last night. When the talk turned to bio gibberish I tried to listen, but inevitably my head started to sing TMBG children's songs instead: "Dooooon't cross the street in the middle in the middle in the middle in the middle in the middle of the block!/Use your eyes to look up!/ Use your ears to hear!/ Walk up to the corner/ When the coast is clear/ And wait/ And wait/ And wait until the light turns green (repeat ad nauseum).

I found the dinner kind of depressing for the usual reason, plus a new one. Anise is nice enough (in the bland way of many of the science geeks) but a little gossipy, and it became obvious to me that I've been sucked into the bizarre inbred world of intrigue of the science geeks. It's like high school. I'm already tired of thinking about who likes who. I need some friends. So, anyway, I've been ready to travel, and hopefully I'll visit Kelly and Ruby this weekend, hopefully, and have good ol country times.

Outdated thought: at the concert it occurred to me that I'd like to be a rockstar, however I would be the sort of rockstar who would occasionally hide behind the amps onstage for a little while.

OH! I forgot my original intention for this entry, which is the story of the toilet auger. I'm a big fan of the doody humor, so when I think (or Juney reminds me) of this whole incident, I tend to laugh so hard that I become immobile and near-hysterical. The details are that after a night of drinking Friday, ol' Junebug used our facilities Saturday morning and it clogged. I could hear her plunging, and hoped I could sleep long enough that she could solve that little problem without involving me. However, it was not to be. We took turns plunging, but for naught. As the morning wore on I was in some discomfort and finally had to give in and use Landlady Ellie's bathroom downstairs. Which I proceeded to clog. It was this fact, that Juney and I were two identical twins of digestive mayhem in this house, that causes me to almost pee myself laughing days later. Anyway, Ellie was away all day, so Juney and I were forced to pee in the shower all afternoon (I mean, not continuously, just when we needed a wicked pissa). When she did get back, June descended on her almost immediately as she walked in the door, and Ellie headed right back out to Home Depot for a toilet auger (aka Toilet Snake; also the name of my rock band). Juney augered the toilet, which I also found very funny. We have pictures. This also lead to an important set of laws: The first rule of the apartment is that you do not talk about the apartment. The second rule of the apartment is that you do not talk about the apartment.

Last night Juney and I had the following conversation (a trigger in my incident of hysterics):

JUNE: You saw my poo! [During plumbing procedures]

ME: We're poop sisters.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )