http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Monday, Jan. 13, 2003 11:40 am )

>With your feet on the air and your head on the ground

Yesterday was pretty tremendous. Usually I'm not a big Sunday fan, but I did things right yesterday. Things started off poorly, since I once again failed to make it to Fake Church. They could hold services in my bedroom and I'd still sleep through it. Anyway, what I decided to do instead once I finally woke up was to take the bus past Fake Church, reading the title of the sermon I missed, and hoping this was roughly equivalent to going. And anyway, I like riding the bus. So I went and got some coffee and sat around reading Villette by Charlotte Bronte, BadAss Plain Girls Ltd. It always happens to me that I read the exact right, relevant book at the right time, and this is that book. Lucy Snowe is such a repressed, sarcastic, clear-seeing, lonely, frickin awesome heroine, and I love reading about how much she has to put up with. And also how she locked a girl in a closet.

So meanwhile, I came home and Juney and I watched a very bad TCM movie on TV with Jane Fonda in it: Sunday in New York, appropriately enough about a 22-year-old virgin. It was wacky with a capital "Ohhhh no, it's 1960s wacky time." Very amusing. The culminating scene of Jane and her new man wearing elderly pajamas and kissing (as a precursor to gettin it on, we assume) was definitely the least sexy thing ever recorded on film. Virginity is really underrated.

And then we went to eat expensive and mysterious sushi.

And then I finally downloaded KaZaA, so I could finally get all these songs I've been wanting. Also, the thing was finishing downloads that I started while I was still at PCU, so I had a little time capsule moment listening to "Don't Dream It's Over." Hey now. It was so damned exciting that I couldn't even sleep for thinking about the new music. Ah, dopey.

Today is tremendous as well: I'm going to get my drill at the P.O., and I'm filing down the top of our front door so that it will actually close. And making June a Get-It-On mix CD (note to self: download "Let's Get It On.")

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )