http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Monday, May. 26, 2003 3:00 pm )

>I like Oxygen, We, and Lifetime, in that order

So yesterday was a long day of work. I got stuck shelving misplaced magazines at the end of the night, leading me to curse out Cat Fancy, Adbusters, and something called News.com for being so hard to find. I also found myself acting like an imbecile again around a couple of the girls that I find too cool and funny and can only laugh around--I was manning the door after close, kicking people out, when these two girls tried to come in, asking if they could just use the bathroom. Anyway, I said no and kicked them out, which funnycoolgirl1 approved of, and then I started laughing uncontrolably to myself and was forced to admit that I was just thinking of if I had said, "nah, you can pee right there if you want but you sure as hell can't come in." Yep, that was hilarious. I am so stupid.

Also notable at work yesterday was that as I was cashiering, one of my customers did a card trick for me. It was pretty good too. Amusingly he did it without any introduction or any comment after my amazement. He was just all about the magic I guess. Is THIS your card?? Know who else does card tricks? Schmitty. Or so I hear.

Strangely, yesterday I kept sort of catching a whiff of some smell that reminded me so strongly of Nathan--something like his apartment, like soap and cat and smoke. It was weird.

I forgot to mention an excellent term coined by one of Call's friends, as described to me at the party on Friday--"gay chicken." This is a little game he plays in which the opposing players (boys) engage in increasingly gay gestures until someone gets too uncomfortable and backs down (like "Chicken." You know). The friend felt the game actually had roots in his own homophobia, but really he was the champion player of them all(though luckily he did not molest Call). Anyway, I thought it was such a useful term, because man, Juney definitely plays lesbian chicken with me all the time. I'm good up to the point of talking, but when the personal space bubble gets invaded I flip out big time. Maybe it's not the lesbian chicken game so much as it is the Make Almostreally Squirm game.

So anyway, it's my day off. Previously torrential rains made it seem OK for me to hang out and clean and watch TV, though now it has stopped raining, making me just the usual lazy bitch. Well, whatever, it's not like it's sunny or warm out. Tonight I'm seeing a movie with the Callster. Finally it's movie Monday!

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )