http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Wednesday, May. 28, 2003 1:09 pm )

>"Somehow it got easy to laugh out loud..."

Yo babies. Yesterday was another amusing day at work. The top story I was going to tell you was how I ran into this small crying lost child and had to help him locate his mother without being able to understand a word he was saying ("Your name is 'Owl'?? How do you spell that?"), but then this story got topped by a celebrity encounter. I was taking my break downstairs and this guy I work with was like, "Hey, do you like Rage Against the Machine?" And I was like, "not really, why?" And he said, "Tom Morello was here today," and suddenly I had a blinding flash of recognition: I had helped Tom Morello find Dune by Frank Herbert. He looked so familiar, but I thought he was just a regular, semi-insane customer. But no, celebrity!

Call called up last night, drunk as hell because he had a major deal yesterday, his thesis defense, and I told him the story, and he did get all excited, though he totally missed the point and was excited because he went to high school with a Tom Morello who was good at soccer. Drunk Call is amusing.

He and I went to see Adaptation at Movie Monday on, obviously, Monday night. I thought it was pretty good, though I mainly liked the first, Charlie half, because it was funnier. I also like when protagonists call themselves fat in voiceovers all the time. But anyway, the whole concept of Movie Monday delighted me, because how else could movies be improved than by adding the attractions of alcohol and cigarettes? Throughout the movie I could see flares of lighters sparking up briefly in the dark. Brilliant.

Anyway, I had a terrific, very amusing night with Call (semi-drunk Call), who did not seem at all concerned with his thesis defense the next day. But anyway, fun fun fun until we went to bed, and then kind of frustrating and depressing. He has this horrible sigh...I don't know, my main problem is that all is happy and fun and then suddenly sex is so serious. Like, we're on a mission from God. Can't we have a sense of humor? I ask you. But then in the morning the cuteness recommenced. Oh, and I also realized as I was sleeping that morning that I was both 1. laughing and 2. farting in my sleep, though not both simultaneously. Good times.

Well, I've had my potatoes for the day, so you know I'll soon be heading out to the bank, and to the army navy store to buy Converse sneakers, and, at long last, to work. Ugh, work. Maybe on second thought I'll just hang out and watch A Wedding Story, for a change.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )