http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Sunday, May. 25, 2003 11:23 am )

>While the potatoes boil

Ah, another day, another dollar, another dinner involving potatoes. I'm mentally preaparing myself for another long day at Big Chain Bookstore. And the potatoes have not boiled yet (eating dinner at noon today, essentially a big bowl of starch, which is so delicious I cannot even tell you). Last night, I spent an amusing Saturday on my own, eating potatoes, naturally, drinking a beer, and falling asleep in front of the TV at 8 o'clock. And that was pretty much it for the night. I think I slept about 13 hours. It was the fruit of two early days at the bookstore and one late night with Call, the usual formula. Friday night he and I went out to dinner (with a first stop at his lab, where he and a fellow lab person made a little dry ice explosion for me) and then to a party/bar-crawl with some of his friends (that I met for a previous party/bar-crawl). Call and his fellow boys proceeded to get very very very drunk before heading out to a semi-expensive, dark and cavernous bar that seemed to head back, room after room, for an eternity, Call leading me by the hand through the crowd. Beforehand, we hadn't stepped a block outside the party house when a couple of the boys got into a fight on the street and Call and the others sauntered over to see about things, Call going "calm down! calm down!" to the short but bulked-out belligerant who started it. I was pretty sure I was going to have to watch my poor boy get beat down, but all was well in the end. Drunk Call is also kind of fun. Not at first, when he was just saying some funny shit, yelling about the awesomeness of 1. Pearl Jam and 2. the Transformers, but later, at the bar, when he was going on about being glad he had a girl and telling me I looked cute when I danced and randomly making out with me. Heh. It was an amusing evening.

So obviously now I like him again. The key may be the going out, which I also like. Am I wrong to be a little concerned that he really just likes to have a girlfriend, and the fact that it's ME is sort of secondary? I think this may be true, but then maybe I feel the same way only vice-versa. But regardless, he is cute and lovely to me again.

So I forgot to mention that earlier this week I went to see travel writer Bill Bryson talk at the Free Library, which I was really really excited about, since I have read all of his travel books but one, which I have been only just barely holding myself back from buying at work, though none of his language books nor the new science one, since they are duller. Spare me the facts, make with the funny, I say. But anyway, it was a pretty good reading, mostly for 1. letting me hear his accent, a combination of Iowa, London, and Yorkshire, which somehow comes out as vaguely German-with-a-mild-speech-impediment, and 2. his story telling during the Q and A period, which was quite funny and also described the current activities of Stephen Katz, who appears in a couple of the travel books.

Oh, and get this: latest search term for getting this diary: "peeing personals." Ew. And I was on the first page of results! It was all because of this entry from my P.C.U. days.

I suspect the potatoes are nearly done, so I'll check ya later, homes.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )