http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Tuesday, Feb. 04, 2003 1:53 pm )

>For a second there I actually thought I was uncool

Who is the coolest girl in the world? OK, not really me, but yesterday I was such an amusing babysitter for my little Baby Boy, replacing his typical fretful/bored look with smiles. Here's a little game I think I pioneered: sit the kid on your lap, then lift him over your head while scolding him for flying, til he comes back down. Then sound relieved, until oh no! back up he goes again. I am SO AMUSING.

My other question is, do I look crazy if I talk to the baby on the street/trolley? It is kind of a one-sided conversation, but I feel rude if I just ignore him until we get home.

I also twisted my ankle while carrying the boy in his thing, his backpack/sling doohickey. I couldn't see my feet because of it, so I stepped off the curb and the street was farther away than I thought, making me step weird and stumble and wake up the boy and attract the attention of the dancing traffic cop (SO funny. I love that guy, even if he did yell "be careful!" to me).

Yesterday was also notable because I finally broke my non-going-out streak by going out for a drink with Almostreally's Science Geek All-Stars: Juney, Jelly, Call, and the Sexy One. Pretty good time too, since it was comprised of several good elements (beer, weeknight, geeky boys). I have to say that the Sexy One was on a roll (a wicked attractive roll, mmm mmm) with really funny stories and random comments. He's almost really hateable for being so smart and funny and cool and good-looking and what not. This kid won the genetic lottery for real. Anyway, so I realized I find it very difficult to talk to ol' Call now since I've found myself interested in him, which is perverse but oh so normal for me. He himself seemed to be full of slightly odd comments, like when you're trying to be funny but you can tell it's coming out off and nobody understands you? Like that. And I have to say, I read that as a favorable sign, if maybe I throw off his equilibrium a little bit. And now I say, you know what, fuck it, I'm going to Quizo this week even if June doesn't and I swear to God I will make it obvious to Call that I am up for the exchange of phone numbers and/or pre-Valentines moochas smooches. Wahoo!

On the To Do list: stop being a loser/ start seeking employment. Argh.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )