http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Saturday, Dec. 07, 2002 1:22 pm )

>Little boy, think it over one time

How are you? I just returned from babysitting Baby Boy, in the convenient venue of Downstairs. I have to say I'd been dreading it for a couple of days, but I guess I did OK with it. The only good part was really when he fell asleep in my arms while I sang him the following song:

Little boy, think it over one time
Little boy, think it over one time
Little boy, think it over one time
Before you break in those walkin shoes.

I'm not sure this is a good message for the baby since ideally he should start breaking in his walking shoes in order to hit important developmental milestones on time. Actually, crawling is next on the agenda. Juney and I thought he was just about to do it for us, but instead he decided to start crying for no reason and drive June back upstairs.

But, even if I'm not Queen Maternal, at least I made 50 big ones, thereby paying for the art supply binge I went on yesterday. It's because I have big decorating plans for my room, and I bought some frames and a big canvas and some paint. I'm not Queen Maternal, I'm Johnny Artistic.

Yesterday I went into the city for the first time in forever because I wanted to know what it would feel like to step in 85 knee-deep puddles. Eventually I caught on to their tricks--where the slush is darkest, it may look like solid pavement, but really that is the deep end of the pool of icy soup. But anyway, it was really good to be back in the city, for the fresh (poopy) air, pandhandlers, and inescapable brass instruments. No, but really, I liked it.

And I also did happy hour and a Mozart concert (I swear) with the science geeks, and I could feel my social skills leaking out of my feet. I sat next to my new favorite Cal at the bar, but I wasn't so slick conversationally, unfortunately. OK, but not sparkling. Regarding Mozart (Requiem), I am ashamed to admit that I had a hard time paying attention. I really need English lyrics, because old Vannie M.'s "And Ray Charles was shot down, but he got up, did his best. A crowd of people gathered round, and to the question, answered 'yes.'" moves me far more than all that four part Latin. I think maybe if it was louder. I wanted to be moved to tears, I really did, but it didn't take.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )