http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Tuesday, Dec. 10, 2002 10:33 am )

>Bare bulbs and General Tso's

I'm sitting right now in my bare, half-painted disaster area of a room. Two walls and the ceiling are now a buttery white color that is really stunning. All my furniture is pushed into the center of the room, and everyuthing that is even mildly horizontal is carpeted with newspaper. I find I read the newspaper more while painting than I ever do when it is delivered brand new and folded every Saturday and Sunday. But anyway, the room is so horrible-looking right now that I decided to sleep in the living room last night, lest I be freaked out by sleeping in the dead center of the reeky room. I want to try and finish painting today, but I fear I am going to run out of paint. Did I mention what an absurdly large room I have?

Saturday night, Landlady Ellie invited Juney and I over (or, down, actually) for wine, Chinese food, and a DVD (Lovely and Amazing, which was really good). She is my new idol, for being a cool cat, and having cool music, and knowing where the best friggin Chinese place ever is, and having traveled extensively, and loaned me her wine book, and given Juney and I this enormous "Open 24 Hours" sign that she had in the basement. It's currently sitting in our hallway, awaiting the day when I have paper towels with which to clean it and a clue and hardware related to how to hang it. It's pretty awesome. I kept forgetting we had it and then turning a corner in the hall, seeing it, and laughing. It's very large.

And I also agreed to paint Ellie's bedroom after Christmas. I know, I'm such a whore. But how could I pass up the opportunity to spill paint on someone else's stuff?

OK then, the day is slipping away. First to cornflakes, and then to work!

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )