http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Thursday, Dec. 05, 2002 10:47 am )

>Don't bother with a local girl

Snow, snow, snow. Being a bum on the best of days, you know I'm definitely staying in today. Unfortunately, I'm living in the Plague House now. Baby Boy got sick night before last, and last night Landlady Ellie succumbed. Juney has been suffering from a low grade Not Feeling Well for several days. I personally feel great, except for living in constant fear.

So last night I had the pleasant experience of hearing Ellie heaving downstairs, which is how I have advance warning of her illness. I just feel terrible for her though, with her being sick, and the sick baby. I wish she had somebody to take care of her (I mean besides Juney and I, who are kind of mercenary care-givers).

In other news, I finally fixed The Coolest Lamp Ever, which I happen to own. The shade depicts an old-fashioned, homey type room, with clear parts so that the light shines through in various places, like in the mouth of the iron stove. The base of it is a green-tinted lantern-type cylinder, and inside is a green Christmas light, which burned out long ago. But I finally replaced it, so now the lamp has returned to its former glory. It's very tacky. Juney surprised me by picking up on the Gatsby reference right away. You know, if I ever have a dock, I'm definitely putting a green light on the end of it. And oh, when Daisy cries on his shirts. Man.

We missed Quizo with the science geeks last night. It was difficult for me to forego, but I thought it was for the best. I hope they missed me anyway, when the literature questions rolled around. Sigh. At least I'm useful.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )