http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Sunday, Dec. 19, 2004 12:33 am )

>Baby, it's you

Today I was tremendously lazy, but being that it was Saturday, at least I had the whole day off to sit in my pajamas and paint a bizarre Barry Manilow collage for Davy while listening to Q102, one of those stations playing club music all Saturday night. I'm getting really attached to that song featuring, I b'lieve, Bow Wow and JoJo, my favorite prepubescent singers. I think it might be called "we don't have to go nowhere," which is also my philosophy, only my song goes "we don't have to leave my apartment all day long." Oh well.

Thursday night witnessed a terrible Quizo upset, complete with me insisting my answer was correct and the MC was wrong yet again (Silly Putty was first marketed in the 1950s, I think, not the 1940s. I feel very strongly about this, having even read an old New Yorker "Talk of the Town" thing from 1955 treating Silly Putty as a novelty. I am the king of Silly Putty trivia, and yet apparently led my team--name this week: "Little Chicken Pot Pie"--down the primrose path.) I guess happily though, my self-esteem was restored by a bout of Trivial Pursuit: Book Lover's Edition on Friday night at Davy's Festivus party (participants: mostly just our Quizo team) in which I like to think I did terribly well, thanks to endless lifetimes of shelving. Basically, trivia forms the cornerstone of my mental well-being.

I'm a little concerned with my present-giving this season, mostly with striking the right balance with Davy. Originally I had just gotten him a DVD, but then finally realized that would probably not be enough and so embarked on the bizarre Barry Manilow-themed painting which attempts to incorporate various important images and personal jokes. I was hoping that this cheap gift would not be too conspicuous if he did not get me a lot, and would also be meaningful/thoughtful enough if he did get me a lot. It's a complicated mathematics. Ah well.

I think I've finally decided that I will take the GREs this winter, even though I'm not sure about going back to school. I think probably I should, but this would definitely require me to leave Philadelphia, a weighty thing for me. Plus I just glanced in a GRE study book at work and was horrified by an easy-seeming math question about calculating weighted averages that completely puzzled me. Taking math tests is the fodder of nightmares.

Recent nightmares:

1. I am at work and through the plate glass window I spot Call laughing with some young cousins and I fear he's about to come in.

2. I am driving in a car with Davy and the rest of the Quizo-ers when we get into a car accident. We're all OK, but I see Davy's body, naked and with some of his hair shaved, being hauled off in a stretcher and I scream his name.

3. In a thrift shop, I spot a great brown silk cardigan and another woman comes up to see the tag, which says it's vintage and originally sold for $600,000 but is now $50, and she starts fighting with me for it and I have to hold it tight against me and try to escape from her.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )