http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Thursday, Dec. 09, 2004 6:46 pm )

>New green fashion

Yo. Today I found myself in a Chinatown grocery store, looking for some amusing candy for Xmas presents. I kept thinking I had discovered the candy aisle, but then would realize that the packets of stuff I was fondling contained something like dried chilis or olives or something less identifiable. And even once in the candy aisle things like "fried fish skin" and "shrimp chips" were right next to the packets with fruit pictures and smiling children and something featuring "new green fashion." I nearly purchased an attractive package with a sort of undersea theme--it certainly looked like candy, but I left it on the shelf in a cautious mood. I wound up purchasing something that appears to be tiny tubes of pudding (pudding?? the word pudding does appear anyway), the "new green fashion" rice candy (looks to be actual freeze-dried rice, and, I swear to you, "soft corn candy"--in the shape of ears of corn, of course. Merry Christmas!

I just received an email telling me about the death of a college classmate, who apparently died in a sudden fashion but of "natural causes," which is a way of saying "not an overdose, you callous bastard!" Anyway, the name sounds familiar, and I fear it might be a rather funny boy who was in the comedy troupes but was otherwise quiet and wore dark-framed glasses, so of course I cherished a little crush on him. I hope he is not dead. Of undiscloseable causes.

I wonder if I foresaw his death-- I dreamed Sunday night that my high school friend Annette told me that her ex-boyfriend was dead--her ex-boyfriend that is very similar to the college crush in appearance. Oh my prophetic soul.

Meanwhile, I'm still feeling quite Christmasy and looking forward to going upstate with Davy (and Jim), even though I've recently learned that we must sleep separately (I was wondering about that one) and attend mass (that's OK, although I always feel left out when everyone goes up for communion).

And finally, I had a customer at work today who was so incredibly MEAN and RUDE and treated me like an idiot that I was flabbergasted with anger and thought of really good mean things to say to him after he had left. I try to think it's a good thing that I have a hard time thinking of cutting remarks off the cuff, since I'd be saying horrible things to people all the time, and possibly regretting it, occasionally. Although the other day I did tell the worst and most clinging of my regular plagues of customers: "THERE ARE KNITTING KITS AND THERE ARE TEDDY BEARS AND NEVER THE TWAIN SHALL MEET!" It was mean, but also strangely put, so I forgive myself.

P.S. I want to go to Peru. Who's comin with me??

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )