http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Sunday, Aug. 04, 2002 10:42 pm )

>Oh to sit on the stairs with thee once more, my darling bitchwhore

Right now I'm tired like I invented tired. What is it about driving that totally exhausts you? I logged a lot of miles this weekend, picking Ruby up at the train station, and going to PCU, and Kelly's house, and back to my house, and then driving Ruby home to the Bronx....kid, I got around. I feel pretty cool about it though, having traveled so thoroughly.

It was a tremendously good weekend. Saturday Ruby came over, and I met her at the train station. We went out to PCU in the evening and hung around in Fifi's room while she was packing up and feeding us peculiar candy and snacks from Chinatown (best moment: the face Ruby made after foolishly consuming wasabi-flavored dried beans). It was good to see her, but the best part was tht Ruby came prepared with a story of mild sexual content that segued into a Jerry Springer-type twist (I really can't do it justice here) and I got the pleasure of witnessing the reactions of Fifi (and later Suzy) to this shocking true tale, which were hilarious. I don't know if I ever laughed so hard. Fifi proved to be a fan of the "It's gettin hot in here, so take off all your clothes" song, and she gave Ruby an introductory lesson on the violin. We were sitting up in Fifi's dorm room looking out at the campus in the evening, very peaceful--it felt nicely familiar.

Sticking to a very strict schedule, we took a long detour to go visit Kelly at her apartment, to admire her fantastic tag sale furniture, eat pizza, and hear her latest tales of high drama, and then left promptly to go back to PCU to visit with Suzy, who is a camp counselor there for the summer, and only has free time between 11 and 1. Since conversation was imperative we went to the diner instead of Local Bar (Ruby doesn't like Local Bar like I inexplicably do), but this trip just made me realize that it wasn't the specific places we loved (because they were mostly stupid places like the store or even our junky living room) but the people who were there. And once the people are gone, we just don't belong there anymore, sad as it is. You can't go home again, but at least I can take my girls with me, I mean visit them from time to time.

And you'll be glad to hear that I did NOT stalk Nathan, even though I was sorely tempted to do a brief drive-by to see if he was at the coffeehouse. Sometimes I have to take myself in hand and remind myself that I am not the sort of person who does things like, oh, I don't know, try to keep tabs on an ex-not-even-boyfriend, or, say, purcase the publication "Instyle Weddings" for no apparent reason. Oh, the temptation. Get thee behind me, satan.

Anyway, so Ruby slept over at my house last night, and today we swam a little and shopped a tiny bit and then I drove her back home. And now lawd I'm tired, buttercup.

It was so fantastically good to see Ruby--we had such an uproarious conversation on the way home from the train station, what with her crazy story, and our mutual exchange of funny sex/boy/embarrassment stories, the kind of confessions I live for. Ah, Ruby. We were joined at the hip all year long. It was nice to be back on campus with her too. We pretended we still lived there for a little bit.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )