http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Monday, Aug. 05, 2002 11:21 pm )

>Music and conversations

Listening to the radio station from my days at PCU--it's the Indie Flux show. I am listening to something called Ugly Casanova right now that sounds like Modest Mouse. I'm not sure I like it, but it's so atmospheric--it's something that makes me feel every particle of the Mellow Loneliness Hour just like I used to.

Today Junebug and I bought mattresses for our new apartment, to be delivered in Philly on Saturday (hopefully--otherwise we share my futon I guess). Somewhat optimistically we both chose full-size beds, but maybe it'll be an enticement in itself: "hey baby, whyn't you come spoon me on my new Serta?" I spent much more than I had originally intended to, having based my estimates on those annoying Reznick's Mattress commercials that claim to give you the whole dealie for 200 bucks. I spent almost 400, but anything less than that was pretty uncomfortable. The one I bought was still pretty cheap, but since I am used to uncomfortable mattresses, such as the plastic-covered block of wood on a metal frame that passed for a bed at PCU, it is no hardship. In fact, it is a friggin care-bear-cloud by comparison. We were the only customers in the store, attended by a jovial Santa Claus salesman. I asked him if he ever took a nap in the store, and he said it was forbidden but he did once. He also said he used to be a repo man, which was like sales in reverse. Har har, Santa. I became concerned as I watched him watch Juney flop around on the high-end pillowtops: did she just get us the big boobie discount?

OK, now I'm hearing Bright Eyes. I've never heard this guy before, and I'm disappointed. I thought he was supposed to be the shiznit. What the frig is this?

I also had an interesting conversation with an older woman in Walmart who took a very active interest in our choice of cleaning products. Sad to say, she was very motherly in her advice yet clearly incorrect to recommend Mr. Clean for wood floors. I hated to disregard her choice for us, but in the end my selection of Murphy's Oil Soap pleased her because it was an old-fashioned product and so complemented her historical soap perspective.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )