http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Monday, Apr. 08, 2002 1:41 am )

>Hard exterior, squishy interior

While I was listening to the radio yesterday, I starting compiling my list of worst song lyrics of all time. Some of the contenders were:

Live, for "her placenta falls to the floor" in Lightning Crashes

Del Amitri, for "I need her/ More than clowns need the laughter of the crowd" in Tell Her This

U2, for "Bay-bay, can we still be friends?" in Who's Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses

Lessons to be learned here: don't sing about organs other than the heart, don't allude to clowns unless you're Weird Al, and probably not even then, and lastly, don't be such a total puss.

Tonight was the first time I was able to buy beer at S&S without being carded. I was trying not to look guilty, which is a little absurd since I am actually almost 22, but I can't help but feel shifty when buying alcohol. I like to think the checker was awed by my beauty this time, although it's equally likely he just didn't care.

I'm working on my essay right now, revising some earlier nonsense and trying to figure out how to tack on some more. I think I'll have to get Thoreau in there somewhere, so that should be somewhat painful. My favorite part of this class is getting to read other people's essays. Tonight I was reading this boy's essay that recounted in a kind of off-hand way his emotional sensitivity and long-suffering love for an ex-girlfriend. I just eat this stuff up, because boys typically have such a don't-give-a-shit exterior, which is appealing in its own way, but getting a glimpse of a little heart in there is very compelling. He says "girl I love" and it just about melts me.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )