http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Thursday, Mar. 28, 2002 9:09 pm )

>The Philadelphia story

I was in my Japanese art class today, and the professor was pointing out the presence of an alcove in a room in the slide, and suddenly I had a flash of a book I read when I was little...I remembered vaguely something about a girl constructing a dollhouse with a Japanese alcove that she put flowers in. I looked it up in the PCU library...it's called "Miss Happiness and Miss Flower" by Rumer Godden. I'm going to get it out of special collections tomorrow and I can't wait.

Well, my best friend from high school, June, got into Penn for grad school. I think she'll be going there because it's the most prestigious-sounding of the schools she applied to. We've been talking half-seriously for a long time about how we're going to live in Philadelphia together (the other places she applied were in the midwest and the south, and I'm a dedicated Yankee, extremely prejudiced about other parts of the country for no good reason. So obviously, I was pulling for Philly over, oh, say, Indiana). It actually seems like that would be a lot of fun, and I'm only 21, so it's not like I have to obsess about making a good career move. I could work at Kinko's and try to get into freelancing. Right? Right? Oh man, I just hate myself.

Also, I've learned that Stevie, my patron saint of overall crappiness, lived in our house over break!! You see, Ruby's friend Suzy, who brought Stevie home from Local Bar to begin with, was living here over break, and apparently Stevie slept over for about a week. Grossssssssss. Since then, I think they've "broken up," or something like that, as he made Suzy a photocopy of poems he wrote for his ex-girlfiend, which indicated to her that he was still not over the ex. I really really really want to read his poetry. I can only imagine. Meanwhile, the very fact that Stevie has invaded the Fortress of Solitude is disturbing. I may have to do some sort of cleansing ritual.

And finally, Kelly and her sister came to visit yesterday. She happened to have bought some fake bullet-hole stickers off of E-bay and put a bunch on our door. I didn't think they looked too real, but both Ruby and Priscilla thought I was dead inside the house. Ha ha, city folk. And they're restickable, so April Fools Day, here we come. I don't know how Stinky Pete reacted, as I've barely seen her since we all got back. I wish Prissy could be so elusive. I have smelled Stinky, though. She's very old school, in that whole one shower a week way she has. The odor eminating from her room really transports me to another time and place.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )