http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Wednesday, Mar. 06, 2002 8:15 pm )

>Don't stand so close to me

Second midterm done! I think it went pretty well. I know things are going alright when I'm rereading something I've written on the exam and even I am impressed with the flow of the b.s. Anyway, I'm amazed with how happy I'm feeling this week, considering it's the first time all semester that I've had to work hard for all of my classes. Work seems to agree with me. That and I promised myself some IHOP pancakes tonight if I actually get some reading done. It's funny, I was talking to Ruby tonight about how in class today she was fantasizing about the Wendy's we had last night. I knew exactly what she meant. Most of my classes are divided into: 5 minutes of paying attention, and then 70 minutes of thinking "ooh, spaghetti!" Ruby and I are both fairly skinny, but I think it's fair to say we'd eat bacon all the livelong day if that was an option. Well, I was proud of myself today for attending my religion class, even though I knew ahead of time that we would be watching a video. As it turned out, the video was terrible, but I spent the time productively, thinking about soup and trying to replay "The Further Adventures of Nick Danger" word for word in my head.

My high school friend June has been showing a disturbing tendency lately to im me every night and make me panic about what I'm doing after I graduate. Why must she plague me in this fashion? She's feeling pretty secure because she's going on to grad school, just has to decide where. I definitely did not want to go on to grad school, but the idea of just staying in college indefinitely is starting to sound much more attractive to me. Just think about it: she'll be having summer vacations and spring breaks and I'll be stuck at work, unable to return to our hometown to hang out and go for sushi...weird. At least I'll be able to visit her at school and embarrass myself on college campuses for years to come. Anyway, in retaliation I've started asking her whether she's met any nice boys lately and if she's thinking about getting married soon.

Speaking of college, did you read the college issue of Rolling Stone, the article by the professor talking about how he had a threesome with his students? First of all, blegh. This is some kind of brave guy, too, because they printed his picture with the article, and there must be readers all over the nation going "yeah, right, you had a threesome with two 21 year olds. Mmm hmm, ok." It's like Kojak, with his pants hiked up like my grandpa. Second of all, while I admit to having had random crushes on my teachers, there's still an extremely skeezy element to the student-teacher thing that cannot be overcome. This guy was clearly a prick, as is any prof. who's doing his students, in my opinion. Why didn't he just title it "Hi, I Just Wanted to Say in a National Publication That I Screwed My High School Teacher And All My Thesis Advisees, Thank You." My thesis advisor was female, and she scared the crap outta me all last semester; she was so intimidating. And that's the way God intended it.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )