http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Thursday, Feb. 28, 2002 2:00 am )

>School night

Tonight I'm feeling new and improved, baptized in bar-stink. It was 80's night at our little PCU dive-wannabe, so Ruby and I and her friend E. went down for a couple of hours. Nothing like drinking and being generally seedy and energetic on a Wednesday night to make me feel like I'm really a college student. Afterwards, I always come out into the night, breathing the fresh air and saying we should do that more often. When we left, it had started to snow, and we walked up the hill to our house talking about when we had to get up tomorrow. It's funny how many people in my Thursday classes I saw in the bar tonight--the uptight answer girl actually smiling, the very pretty boy smoking with two rich girls, the disdainful know-it-all drinking gin and tonics at the bar--and I actually felt like we were on the same planet for once. I feel older than I've ever been--in a good way.

Goodnight.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )