http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Tuesday, Feb. 26, 2002 9:13 pm )

>Unmentionables

Just back from putting my laundry in. It has gradually dawned on me that someone must have stolen some of my underwear out of the dryer at some point in the last year. I've been missing this one Victoria's Secret polka-dotted pair and one camisole-thing for an awfully long time, so long that I finally realized they're not just on the laundry pile or in the bottom of a drawer, they're gone! Honestly, who takes someone else's old underwear? This epiphany hit me in class today and I almost exclaimed "hey!!" from the force of the revelation. They're quite expensive after all, and I don't usually make a habit of buying naughty underwear for myself.

In an unrelated thought, I think it's a mark of the advancement of our society that we provide water fountains in large public buildings. Really, how nice is that? It just filled my heart with gratitude to think about it.

Tonight is also Naked Chef night, which is a semi-important night in our house. I hate to be writing about TV all the time, but the thing is that me and my roommates have built up certain TV rituals that CANNOT be meddled with. Stinky and I enjoy the Naked Chef; she because she finds something unusually mesmerizing in the Food Network, and me because that guy is a big, dumb, cookin' hottie. If you've never seen it, tune in Tuesdays at 10. He's basically this youngish British guy living in London. He can cook easy as ringin' a bell and he's appealingly scruffy, with an accent between a speech impediment and cockney. Also, he rides around town on a Vespa scooter. In short, handsome and slightly dorky, just the way I like 'em. There's a scene in pretty much every episode of a close-up of him squeezing a lemon in his bare hands, the sight of which makes me feel funny, like when we used to climb the ropes in gym class.

It was so beautiful out today, about 60 degrees and sunny, the kind of day that makes you think twice about going to class unless you are a diligent student like me (ha--actually I go to class all the time, but only because I'm not doing the reading). I think me and Ruby are both torn over the approach of good weather: while we enjoy Spring and are looking forward to fun Spring-scheduled events, there's also another part of us that gets increasingly more hysterical with the passage of time: one step closer to graduation! I'm digging in my heels big time; they'll have to carry me out of here kicking and screaming.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )