http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Tuesday, Dec. 17, 2002 10:13 am )

>Also that guy from Survivor

Here's a little unrelated PCU (my alma mater) story for you: once back in the day, I attended a comedy show at school, and I noticed that one of the few girls acting in the thing kind of reminded me of someone I knew. I thought about it for a long time, til I finally made the connection: she looked a little like this girl on a TGIF sitcom (a quickly cancelled one that I nevertheless had watched for all five episodes or whatever) that also starred former cast members from Growing Pains and Who's the Boss? It was kind of funny for a while until recently when a little Internet Movie Database research showed that that girl really was the TGIF girl. That was the sort of thing PCU was always doing to you: do I know you because you were in my French class, or because you're famous?

Speaking of PCU, I've been feeling a little guilty about Ruby lately. She's living at home with her parents and temping right now and she hates it. We've always talked, speculatively, about living together again in a year, moving to NYC or Chicago or San Francisco or some other mythological place, but...well, I don't know. I want to be the sort of person who moves to different cities, but I just don't want to move again right away. And Ruby actually does want to, and I guess I always tell people what they want to hear...so, guilt. But, I don't know, maybe. There's nothing holding me here, except that I really like the city and my room is nearing perfection. And it would be hard to abandon Juney. And neither Ruby or I know anyone in any other places, and neither of us have permanent jobs. And I don't know. I shall think of it later. I saw a girl in a puffy jacket yesterday and thought for a split second it was Ruby, and I was very glad to see her.

Just to totally continue this unrelatedness entry, I'd like to readdress my favorite topic of song lyrics, and share with you the two that almost make me cry (or do) every time I hear them:

"I am wearing my new dress tonight, but you don't, but you don't even notice me." --Paula Cole, "Where Have All the Cowboys Gone?"

"I learned the truth at seventeen, that love was meant for beauty queens..." --Janice Ian, "At Seventeen"

Aren't they sad? In the first, it's all about the pathos in her voice, in the last, well, I guess I just always believed her. Or maybe it was because she was a white girl with an afro. Never forget that I am all about the sap.

New Year's Resolution #2: Swear more.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )