http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Tuesday, Feb. 18, 2003 3:50 pm )

>Reindeer? No, that's snow, darling.

So my dear dear Ruby-girl came up for the weekend that just kept going. Things were all good and amusing until Sunday, when suddenly this whole blizzard thing reared its slushy head and we were stuck indoors for two days, and her bus was cancelled yesterday. It was still mad fun and very similar indeed to our PCU hanging out, but I felt bad that I promised big city times and only delivered movies and TV and watching out the window as people dug out their cars. I really need to start paying attention to weather forecasts.

We ran into the anti-war protest in the city Saturday morning. It was quite large, and everyone looked very cold. Near the Liberty Bell we walked past a young man on a cell phone saying "They wouldn't let me chant 'no motherfucking war!'" Why not, eh?

In a bit of unexpected Valentine's Day intrigue, I discovered Saturday afternoon that Nathan had left a message on the machine Friday night, around the time I was going to pick up Ruby in Chinatown. Friday, for those of you just joining us, was Valentine's Day, which struck me as an odd bit of timing. Hmmm, hmmmm. How glad am I that I wasn't sitting at home when he called? Honestly, I kind of hope he was drunk when he called, because I've always enjoyed media depictions of drunken ex-boyfriends making ill-advised calls to ex-girlfriends. I'm guessing he was not, but it's sort of hard to tell on our answering machine anyway because the sound is very crackly and weird, and also the date/time is wrong, so I had to do some difficult calculations to figure out when he had actually called. My ego is so gratified, can you tell? I suppose I should call him back.

Juney and Ruby picked out several guys for me on the online personals. You know, I really didn't want to go that route again, but then again, the idea of going on some dates right now hits me about right. So maybe.

Meanwhile today, Ruby has just left, and my plans include cleaning the hizouse quite a bit (Matt "Pukey" coming over for dinner, blegh) and rewatching one of the weekend's movie selections (Bridget Jones, Wet Hot American Summer, and Kissing Jessica Stein). Tomorrow: poss. babysitting the Baby Boy (somewhat sicky, oh nooo) all day long. Lordy. Ellie's lucky that I'm just a girl who can't say no.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )