http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Thursday, Feb. 13, 2003 3:59 pm )

>My big fat geek wedding

And it's almost Valentine's Day. I'm a big fan of this holiday, even though I am perpetually lovelorn, because I enjoy making humorous Valentine's cards for my friends (this year my idea was to use pictures of brides cut out of wedding magazines, but then I decided it wasn't the most altruistic thing in the world to wish my friends well while simultaneously depressing them about their singleness. It did seem funny, but also cruel, in the way many funny things are. Not that I should judge the marriage-centric girls, me who has studied A Wedding Story daily. Plus, while I'm not the sort to have some sort of fairytale/princess/conspicuoius consumption wedding fantasy, I do have several aspects of my own hypothetical wedding dancing in the brain (ie wedding band--the fiddle stylings of Jay Ungar, and dress--long sleeves). I can't help it. Love is interesting, and so are consumer accessories.) That's the long and the short of it. Love is amusing. I want to rent movies starring Hugh Grant, and read novels, and watch special V-day episodes of sitcoms, and drink pink wine, and listen to either sappy in-love music or sappy heartbroken music. Woo hoo Valentine's.

Today I went to the library. Anti-climatic. I don't like the Dewey decimal system, and I miss the old PCU library. So fucking convenient and well-stocked and attractive. Ah, old library, I send you a Valentine!

So tomorrow evening I'll be heading out to pick up m'dear Ruby-Rubio off the Chinatown bus. Fun! Although I'm still feeling the intense pressure of how best to feed and entertain her and get her drunk.

Things I have:

a cold

biographies of Charlotte Bronte and Edith Wharton

Things I have not:

tissues

boyfriend

job

Nevertheless, the strength of my delusions will carry me through.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )