http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Saturday, Jan. 04, 2003 11:49 am )

>So it has come to this

So here's the sitchy-ation: sewer backing up outside the house. Landlady Ellie's babysitter (age: 18) believes that the water department should be phoned. I, however, believe I should go see Frida and forget that I ever heard the words "raw sewage." I've already done my part for the household this morning, as Ellie woke me up at 8 o'clock to watch the baby for a half hour until the babysitter showed up. So I've done my service. So I'm clearing out before somebody hands me hip-waders and a snow shovel.

I'm also not revealing the fact that the sewage outside the house has been there for days and days. Hey, it never occurred to me that that's what it was. I thought it was just filth. You know, regular, innocuous, trash day filth. It's really my fault, for congratulating myself on nothing going wrong with the house while it was under my care (Ellie and Baby returned last night from CA). This morning I've been watching passersby ogle our little cesspool, and it occurs to me that everyone in the world is more observant than me.

Last night I invited my new best (OK, not really) friends Anise and Jelly over for The Almostreally Classic: beer, [chicken] chili, cookies, and Amelie. It was the first dinner party that I sponsored myself, and the first one sans-Juney, and I think it went pretty well. I'm a good hostess, or else I had consumed too many lagers to notice that I wasn't. We may go out tonight (I'm telling you, bestest friends!) but since Jelly is the sponsor of this plan, and since he is a boy, I predict he will not actually go to the trouble of phoning both of us ladies up. We'll see though. I don't care either way, as I am provided with beer, leftovers, and a certain movie--no, maybe not. I'm almost tired of it, after 1,000 viewings.

Now, time to get my arse outta here.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )