http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Wednesday, Jul. 21, 2004 10:42 am )

>Almost time for more Aleve

Today I'm working on my eighth sick day in a row. Basically, alien invaders have conquered my throat, giving my tonsils a painful stranglehold over much of my lower face and neck and ears. Oh, it hurts, it hurts! It started hurting shortly after I arrived at the cottage for my brief vacation among family this past week. There my hypochondria kicked in, and I went from thinking "sore throat" to "strep throat" to almost making myself cry in the shower while thinking about making brave speeches to Call and others while on my deathbed from meningitis. However, a visit to a local doctor returned me back to "sore throat." Nevertheless, it hurts like hell and makes it almost impossible to eat or drink, even the delicious pudding I bought for myself, plus it makes my voice sound really strange. I went in to work yesterday, stupidly, and couldn't help noticing that whenever I was forced to talk I sounded a lot like I was deaf.

This happens to me about yearly, but this is the worst yet. I seem to recall writing entries about it in college, except that then I was able to drink cold beer as a home remedy, and now the idea of any beverage is frightening. I'm starting to understand why insane people sometimes mutilate themselves, because I have these fantasies of removing my right tonsil with a melon baller.

Anyway, enough complaining.

Did I tell you that I finally ran into McCall the weekend before last? On the street, and my heart just about stopped when he passed within a foot of me without noticing me. Just as well because I was very sweaty from walking into the city and back, not to mention being suddenly filled with icy cold fear. Anyway, I think that prepared me because hours later, in an entirely different part of the city, I ran into him again and this time stepped directly into his path and said "Are you just going to walk right by me?!" in a tone that was sort of out of my control. Anyway, he begged pardon for not having his glasses on (oh yeah, I forgot about his self-inflicted blindness) and we talked amicably for a minute or two. He said to call him to "catch up," he said that he liked my new hair, he said he was on his way to meet his cousins. I didn't say where I was going because it was to Scott's (the "Sweetpea"'s) house to meet him for a date, and I sort of half-shook, half-held his hand as I departed, reminding me somewhat of the night he asked me out, when I shook his hand as a stupid flirtation method. Ah well. Meanwhile I've been feeling much better about the whole Call situation, and this meeting was helpful at least in demonstrating that he's not totally indifferent to me, and indeed would not just walk past pretending not to know me, which I had feared. Though I haven't called him, due to cottaging and the crazy-voice sickness. Maybe I just won't.

I ran into my ex-boyfriend the other day...then I backed up and ran into him again. I miss him sometimes.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )