http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Friday, Aug. 08, 2003 11:00 pm )

>Warming the cockles of yer heart

Recent things that warmed my heart:

1. The people I work with. I was being Johnny Frownypants today because work interrupted a very productive Napping Hour, and I got reassigned from the second-worst assignment (2nd floor) to the worst (1st floor), and it made me cranky, but at the end of the night the antics of the cafe boys yelling randomly about frappucinos in a Chris Farley voice and one of the managers telling us over the loudspeaker that a grocery store in Argentina required cashiers to wear diapers to cut down on bathroom breaks "so think about that as you straighten up the store tonight!" made me smile a great deal and hate the magazines less. You know what, manager-guy, you are too good for this job. You should have a super secret imaginary lovely job, and I will happily work there with you for minimum wage.

2. Antics with Callie-boy, who was late for work this morning heh heh. My goodness is that boy a hottie, I swear to you. My heart was slightly warmed by him giving me his extra keys (aw), although in actuality this just means he won't have to exert the effort to go down to the front door when I come over anymore. Ah well, still a nice gesture. More heartwarming was last night: we ordered pizza and sat about eating breadsticks and watching the new pseudo-90210 and then lying atop one another on the couch talking and laughing and just generally being lazy until it really was time to peel ourselves up and go dance in a tiny oven-like room with the science geeks. Shake that thing, Miss Kana-Kana. Unfortunately I tossed and turned all night with weird dreams about my father dying.

3. One more Call one: on vacation last weekend, in the tent, at night, drunk and giggly, he pulled the blanket over our heads, announcing, "Now we're in a tent!" Maybe it's just me that finds that very funny. Because we were already in a tent, see, and ....ah, forget it.

Hmm, yeah, that might be it. Landlady Ellie and Juney and I barbecued the other night, and that was mildly heartwarming and also delicious, including a bottle of wine and tres leches ice cream. What the hell are the tres leches? I do not know, but they are tasty. Significantly, I managed to lock us all out of the house early in the night by pulling a door shut behind me. This was a major bummer, as the Baby Boy was asleep inside, and the stove was on. Oh my. But the ever-resourceful Ellie went next door, climbed out their second floor window and broke into her own window with a curtain rod. She also managed to pull my Amish tomato plant out of the gutter (it had fallen off my third floor roof a month ago) and strangely it is much more verdant and healthy than my better looked after tomato. So go figure.

Tomorrow I feel compelled to rent Clerks. Despite my occasional zen happiness at work, I've never seen it, and I think I'm ready to appreciate it at this juncture in my fabulous career.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )