http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Tuesday, Apr. 16, 2002 12:33 am )

>Dinner and a movie and peeing myself

OK! So I have a date with the internet personals guy on Friday. Oh. My. God. I'm surprisingly unpanic-stricken, even though I've never been on anything approaching an actual date in my entire life. Plus we're talking a rather large time commitment for a first date, including driving quite a ways to go to the arty movie theater AND having dinner. Things! Could! Get! Awkward! But I am not too worried. He seems to be really sweet and funny and interesting. I'm not sure if the height, or lack thereof, will be an issue, but luckily I do not wear high heels. Anyway, I'm feeling very happy about it, and trying not to put too much emphasis on the whole deal, but rather considering it as the Official Opening Day of my dating season. Holy moses.

In a non-embarrassing-internet-boyfriend-related story, today as I was walking over the little bridge that leads up to our apartment complex, I saw the world's largest turtle swimming along below. It was no little snapping turtle or box turtle such as one sees from time to time, it was, I would wager, the mother of all turtles. I exclaimed "Oh my God!" but I don't think anyone else saw it.

It was very beautiful and hot today, so my essay class sat outside. In a way it was a very good time because I could distract myself with pulling up the lawn and having Imaginary Boyfriend fantasies about lolling on the grass in the sunshine, playfully reclined in his lap. Why can't I loll? I really want to loll. On the other hand, two hours seemed very long outside, as I had a skirt on and the number of comfortable and modest positions I could sit in was severely limited.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )