http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Monday, Mar. 25, 2002 6:09 pm )

>Back to the future

WHOA AND HEY THERE--I'm back at school!! I always always always return to school on a Monday morning instead of the saner Sunday night, and I always tell myself that I will never do it again. Suffice to say, I did it again, and boy does it suck: I'm just as tired, sick, dirty, ugly, and in need of clean laundry as at the start of break. I'm working on about three hours of sleep, and I missed my first class, plus it's much less dramatic to leave home when everybody else is leaving to go to work anyway, and are just as tired and disgruntled.

The thing was that my brother Adam was only home during the last weekend of my break, so I felt inclined to go out with him on Sunday night. It was fun--it felt just like my old-timey summer hanging out with him and his friends after my first year of college. It used to be such a sweet little funny time to hang out with the boys--like finally being a cool kid. Last night was kind of like that, except by the end of the night I knew I was too old for the usual highjinks. We started off at World Coffee, because you can usually find some of our friends/acquaintances from high school hanging around there along with the Liberal University students, hippies, and crackheads. It was pretty dead, but sure enough Hugh and his girlfriend Katy were just leaving the place. We made plans to meet them later and for lack of anything better to do went to Adam's office, where he showed me just about every little bit of technology they had and raided the promotional items supply closet for free mugs and such. Then we met up with Hugh and went out to play pool. This is my brother's new obsession--he's got his own cue and everything. He's actually pretty good too, calling his shots like a friggin pool Nostradamus. Then to the diner, where Adam got an Incredible Hulk doll out of the claw machine (Hugh noted it looked like Sprout, the Green Giant's little kid, on steriods). I laughed til I cried at the diner 'cause of something Adam did: he suddenly stopped eating my french fries, got a weird look on his face, paused, and announced "I think I have to do something." I guess he had just remembered an assignment or something, but us having poop on the brain--so to speak--me and Hugh laughed like small children for about ten minutes. After that, though, they just wanted to drive around, and pick up these other girls we know, and I was all tired and wired and wanting to come back to school, so I let them go on without me around 1.

And here I am, back. It is nice to be here again. So nice that I think it's time for Rice A Roni and Friends. And un Beeru might be on the agenda as well. Tune in tomorrow for the story of the Cab Ride of Doom in Orlando and other random thoughts that have been percolating for two weeks.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )