http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Thursday, Oct. 09, 2003 12:55 pm )

>The play-downs

Go Red Sox. I guess. This year I'm following the post-season (although I think calling the play-offs the post-season is stupid) with an unaccustomed focus. The boy likes baseball. It's actually been growing on me a bit, although really I think 7 innings would be plenty for everyone.

And it was cute at first when he would say "NOMAHHHHH!" for me.

I went over to Call's place last night after work for the game. I was so excited to see him since it had been quite a few days and I was sort of fighting with him the last time we were together. But then I got to his apartment and he wasn't there yet, so I called him and as usual he was unaware of what time it was and running late, so I went to his bookcase to look for something to read to kill time (my usual book at Call's, Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, was under the bed and I didn't find it 'til later) and all he had was a crappy collection of the denser Russians, and David Foster Wallace, upon the top of whose head I spit, and Kurt Vonnegut, which OK, I've never read, but I get the feeling they're all super-masculine futuristic distopias, am I right? So I don't even know. At the same time, I know I'd be miserable if we broke up. Like start crying when I hear "The Scientist" by Coldplay. And I don't need that. Plus, the post-game bedtime last night was very nice indeed. So I don't even know.

Sorry I talk about the same thing all the time. My other thoughts include:

1. Sudden desire to play badminton again. But no one will want to play with me. Actually this is another thing about Call, because isn't there someone out there who is so perfect for me that they'd want to play street badminton with me every evening? It may be too much to ask of the universe.

2. Gearing up for NaNoWriMo. This year I lack confidence in the extreme, but I'll just have to play it cool and assume that I'll come up with an OK idea the night before it starts (that would be Halloween, I guess) just like last year. I should really start reading more and watching TV less to prepare.

3. Amazingly I wasn't scheduled to work next weekend, so I really want to get out of town. I desperately wanted to go home, but my parents will be away then, so new plan: go see Ruby and Kelly. Ooh, I hope so, I hope so. I want to go out to Kelly's new place, out in the country, in NY. It's lovely to be there, and Ruby and I have traditionally visited at this time of year. I want to go so bad.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )