http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Monday, Apr. 22, 2002 12:32 am )

>Away messages

Ah hahaha--I love IM and its utility for electronic stalking. Tonight Ruby and I were away for an extended dinner with Kelly and her fiance George at their new apartment. It was a housewarming of sorts and so Ruby and I provided the traditional gifts of a potted palm, a six pack of Cherry Wheat, and a Celine Dion tape. This may give you some insight into Kelly and George's personalities. But the point is, I was gone for a long time and so I left my im account on with an away message saying I was in Kelly's town (as is my wont). Come back to find a little IM from my internet boyfriend, friendly but very concise. Aw, how noncommital. But haHA, down below his IM were the records of his compulsive signings off and on all friggin night long! HA--you stalk, but I counter-stalk. He also left a message on the machine, which means I must call him tomorrow. Must train him to call, not IM. Come on, it's local! Meanwhile I feel like such a...vixen...uh, yeah... for playing hard to get, though obviously I'm not doing it on purpose. I'm thinking second date, yeah? Let me at least get a little smooch outta this guy.

In general, I really enjoy stalking my friends and acquaintances through IM. Most of them are in college and have network connections, so they can leave everything on all day long, with informative away messages about where they are, and I must admit I check them like mad. Somehow I feel better knowing that June is in the dining hall and Adam's in class.

This weekend renewed my appreciation for Ruby as a friend, because so many times we have conversations about things I've never talked about to anyone else and I find out that we're both the same. She's my own personal weirdness support group. I nearly cried dropping her off at the train station at the beginning of Xmas break, so I don't know how I'm going to deal with moving out of here in May....but anyway, I was going to tell you about how we were walking out of the mall on Saturday, and she started telling me about believing that people could read her mind and holy cow! I do too. Sounds crazy, but you know if you're standing next to someone, maybe thinking about them, and then get a little freaked out and start thinking at them "I know you can read my mind." Surely this is a common experience for people other than us? Either way, tonight I applaud Ruby for bravely introducing this topic into conversation.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )