http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Saturday, Apr. 20, 2002 12:07 pm )

>A Dating Story

I started writing this entry last night, but then Ruby and Suzy came along so we could go to Local Bar. I always love that place, even dead empty as it was last night. I was knocked for a loop by an impressive two beers, and Ruby was already sleepy eyed from having two tequila shots earlier in the night--where the shots came from I have not determined.

So anyway, last night was Date Night with my internet boyfriend Nathan (I mean, not really my internet boyfriend, I just say that to indicate what a total punkass I am in general). I think it went pretty well. Like, surprisingly well. He was 15 minutes late, but at that point I was thinking "Oh good, I'll give him 15 more and then I can go home and forget all about this." I was a little nervous. But then he appeared. First impression? 5'3" is pretty short. Second impression? He's very very cute. We'll have attractive, tiny children together.

We had dinner at this Mexican place, sitting outside. I had a beer. You don't know how long I was debating with myself whether or not to order alcohol, especially since I'm basically only a beer drinker, which is not terribly sophisticated. And a domestic beer drinker, which may be worse. But in the end I decided to Just Be Me. He had a Guinness with his Burrito, which just seems wrong. Yeah, so who is he to judge? Now I'm sensing I'm getting sidetracked. OK!

Back on track. Conversationally, things went as smoothly as could be expected. In my compulsion to not be silent the whole time I told a number of stories of questionable interest and/or relevance, but what are you going to do? Also, I may have asked him if he planned to abduct me, and probably if I had had another beer I would have been telling him how Kelly instructed me to REMAIN PURE AT ALL COSTS. Anyway, I think we had a good time, talking. He asked some interesting questions, eg. Do you like reality TV? (Answer: yes, but not Survivor) and What's your favorite infomercial? (led to extensive talk of the George Forman grill). Also we had some nice moments eavesdropping on the next table, and wondering if that guy sitting alone inside was William H. Macy (No).

Afterwards we went to an arty movie, The Son's Room, which is an Italian movie that seems to have the same general plot as In the Bedroom, although I can't be sure because I never saw that one. Son dies, anyway, let me spoil that much for you. A bit of a downer. I would estimate we turned to each other to laugh 3 times during the movie, which is good because otherwise it's a bit weird to be sitting beside someone in your own little arty movie world. My heart was beating so fast the whole time in the theater, though I don't know quite why. I was thinking to myself how people could have the physical resources to date frequently. It's slightly nerve-racking in the job interview sense, but then also fraught with amusement park excitement.

So that was my date. He walked me to my car, and we had our goodnight moment in the parking lot, in an appealingly awkward way. He sort of hestitated with what to do, but I went in for the hug (heh--I should have grabbed him in a bear hug and lifted him up, maybe swung him around a little). OK, so I was left with "We should do this again sometime" and "I'll call you." Is this serious, or is this guy speak? I wish he hadn't said it, because now I'll be insulted if he doesn't call. Ah, he was such a cutie though.

As I was walking in the door at home I remembered my dream from the night before, in which my old friend Cara mocked me for being a virgin. I always think she's surpassing me in grown-upness. I wasn't thinking about the dream for very long, but then Ruby and I went to Local Bar and got a little funny in the head, and smoked cigarettes. I've never smoked a cigarette before, in my entire life. This morning I'm coughing a little.

Laundry.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )