http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Wednesday, Mar. 05, 2003 9:20 am )

>Oral examinations

So the current situation is that I am whipped into a froth of worriedness over the two actually relatively minor events occuring in the next couple days, one being my job interview today at a certain enormous bookstore. I feel pretty confident about it (though in fact if I prove unemployable there, I may be forced to kill myself and/or regress to childhood). The second event is my date on Friday with Call, who of course, I've already talked to many times and already know I like to hang out with. So both events should be non-scary. However, I am highly stressed nonetheless. I mean, leaving my apartment sometimes seems fraught with peril, and now we're adding two real life oral exams. You can imagine.

Oh, also Nathan called me last night, which kind of got mixed up in my feelings of dread regarding my interview, so I can't quite tell if it was the phone conversation that made me feel so terrible or just residual worry. In any case, "catching up" conversations aren't much fun anyway because despite my intentions to sound happy and confident, I always end up being apologetic about my own life for some reason. Not Emersonian. However, I do have to give Nathan props for coming up with the precise and excellent description of conversation for me being like an oral exam. True. He also said he was sorry that we didn't do the things we [HE!] had planned for the summer, because he was seeing someone. A) Duh, B) Like he really needed to tell me that. Thanks a lot, Small Change. Short Stack. Half Pint. Blegh.

In other news, I dreamed a few days ago that I was wearing these wicked cool pink framed glasses that I loved and thought I looked so cute in. Unfortunately everyone else thought they were awful. Total symbolism there, man. I am misunderstood in my own time.

One last thing is that I've been resuming my long walks daily out of a slight and sudden conviction that I am training for the Appalachian Trail. It is enjoyable though.

Update at 3:30 pm: Anyone else flipped out a little bit by all the ashes on the forehead walking around today? Also, isn't "What is your worst quality/What is your biggest challenge?" the most tricksy, unfair interview question ever? Seriously.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )