http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Friday, Nov. 08, 2002 10:44 am )

>No, let's not

Last night, to no one's surprise, I sacrificed 1000 words on the snovel in order to IM with my brother Adam, who I haven't talked to in months, unless you count a brief phone conversation last week, when he called to ask me how a Mitch Hedburg routine went (the one about getting a receipt at Dunkin Donuts: "I will file it under 'd' for 'donut'."). This is the way many of our conversations go. In the past, our rapport has been based around our shared love for things on TV, such as the early days when I was in high school and he was in middle school and we watched Baywatch together every night all summer, and instituted the era of our own personal Mystery Science Theater around everything we watched. Anyway, I like to think we're moving on to a level of actual talking about actual things, but last night's IM was still rather odd, bouncing from Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy to Adam's desire to own a whippet. Finally, after I shared my love for airedale terriers, the king of terriers, he graced me with all the lyrics to The Terriers Song by Bruce McCullough of Kids in the Hall:

Terriers are my very favourite breed
They're cute and cuddly and easy dogs to feed
They'll bring you up whenever you are down
Terriers average 20 pounds
When I walk around in this terrier town
One thing that makes me down
Is when people put bandanas on their dogs
Terriers are my very favourite breed
Cute and cuddly, easy dogs to feed
Terriers were there in the 11th century
Napoleon had one to prevent misery
Terriers are good with the aged
Studies show that they prolong old peoples' live
No one wants to die
Like this guy died
Die die, die die
Die die, die die
Worms eating your eyes
Bass solo
Les terriers sont mes types favourites
Jolies, charmantes
Pas de probleme a maintenir
Il donnent du joie
Quand tu es "blue"
Les terries sont a peu pres
Vingt livres.
Give terriers a chance
(Yeh!)
Do the terrier dance
No, let's not
But if you want your love to show
If you want your love to grow
Then go terri-, go terri-, go terri- errr
Die die, die die
Die die, die die

Isn't that outstanding? Well, now I must go and begin my big day of ambitious word counts and cleaning up the joint for Juney's man Mattie.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )