http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2002 11:24 pm )

>Pining for sugar, grease, latex-acrylic semi-gloss

Today was Official "Weirdos, Talk to Almostreally" Day, beginning this morning at the trolley stop when a possibly-homeless guy greeted me. I nodded howdy, he asked me if I knew what day of the week it was, and I am proud to say that I did know, definitively, without even glancing at the front page of the newspaper in the box in front of me.

In addition to providing me with a free pretzel and an unwelcome Charleston-playing band, today was also notable for the fact that I walked straight into a plate glass window. I was going through one of those revolving doors at the bank, and I guess the glass was so clean that I attempted to step out a little prematurely. Thankfully no one was around, but I had to ask myself, "did I really just do that?" Answer: yes. Come on, folks, put up some decals for heaven's sake, it's a menace!

If you sense that I am in a really good mood, you are quite correct, and it is partially due to Landlady Ellie coming upstairs today to check out our paint job, and asking me if I'd keep going and do all the rooms. Oh hells yes! That is so exactly what I wanted to do, and now I get to, I get to fix up all our rooms in lovely decorator colors. Both Juney and I at first thought she meant would I paint her rooms downstairs, but to tell the truth, I was up for that too. I would paint the outside of the house for her too, except that I'd have a little problem with fear of heights. Three steps up on the ladder I'm shaking with fear, truly. But for that I could be employed indefinitely doing odd jobs for Ellie, and I'd probably enjoy that. It would be kind of like Who's the Boss.

This is all just an extension of my favorite game, Mental Trading Spaces, which is when you mentally redesign and redecorate the houses/apartments of people who do not fully grasp the potential of their space. My personal good taste overwhelms me sometimes, driving home the tragedy that I am not a homeowner, but rather a humble renter.

Tomorrow my plans all revolve around food. I need to go grocery shopping again, of course, but more importantly I need some frickin sugar and grease. I have been eating so healthfully lately that it's driving me mad. For dinner today I had tomato/tofu/curry over brown rice and green beans. Desert was bread and jelly cause I'm out of cookies. My god! Tomorrow, I'm going to Wendy's for a number 6 and then finish it off with a package of donuts. I'm having a real grease crisis, so the lack of 24 hour diners in this city is particularly unfortunate.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )