http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Saturday, May. 10, 2003 5:53 pm )

>Avuncular Scmuncular

So there's plenty to update on, but I'm almost without the werewithal to type it up because I am at a unique level of super-tiredness as a result of staying over Call's and also from being mildly sick (also a gift from Call). I never fall asleep over there, mostly because the bed is not really made. It drives me crazy to watch Real World sometimes because all those people curl up in huge nests of crumpledy sheets like a hamster in shavings, but judging by Call, this may be the standard bed practice of 20-somethings. Me, I like the nice smooth tucked in sheet tastefully overlaid with the blanket, and the fitted sheet firmly adhered to the mattress. I have weird dreams at his house from kicking the sheet around all night. So I didn't sleep well for that reason, and then also because of...you know...like, some antics, night and morning. Sex is such a crazy thing. Actually, the startling thing is that now he really, frequently, does well by me, whereas clearly I still do not do it for him. I mean, he has his own agonizing-lifetimes-of-effort-before-coming issues, but I'd like to think I would be able to cut down on the usual time, you know, shave some precious hours off. But anyway--sex. Finally. Amusing.

The coolest thing ever happened to me at work at Big Chain Bookstore on Thursday. I was cashiering, and the very first person to come up to me just happened to be Z.Z. Packer, this great great great author, who was there to sign some books for us, and it was just so cool, since I had actually read a story of hers ("Drinking Coffee Elsewhere") which was phenomenal, and I just happened to meet her so I could tell her so. What a coincidence, eh? So I was very happy there for a while, til I started feeling sick, and then the glamour of the bookstore was lost on me once more.

Juney's man came back from a week at a conference in Florida yesterday, bearing back a souvenir t-shirt for her which she deemed grandmotherly. Ah, boys. So clueless. Luckily I understand her trials, and we collectively wondered whether there weren't any women with him that he could consult? So much for their romantic reunion. Is it possible that the Matt-Juney relationship is heading south? Do either of them have the werewithal (my new favorite word) to actually break it off? Tune in next time! (even though the answer is no. I spend my free mental moments composing my maid-of-honor speech for their reception).

Call and I were discussing bow ties this morning/afternoon, listing the sort of person likely to be seen wearing one. I submitted "kindly pediatricians" and "a certain type of professor." "Avuncular," said Call. "That's the type of professor." "Avuncular," repeated Almostreally knowingly, though secretly thwarted yet again by Science Boy's superior knowledge of English vocabulary (and also poetry, goddammit!). I'll have to look that one up.

What else? I may be going out with Juney tonight, if I can get my sicky tired ass in gear, and tomorrow I loosely plan on baking a pie. Why, I do not know, but I shall, oh yes, I shall. Maybe. Whatever. Later, dude.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )