http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Sunday, Sept. 15, 2002 12:15 am )

>Schmitty: I urge you to be my baby

Do you know that part in High Fidelity (the movie, though maybe it's in the book too, I can't remember) where Rob looks up his ex-girlfriend Charlie, who he's obsessed over for years, and he's surprised she's actually been right there all along: "She's in the fucking phone book! She should be living on Mars!" Well, dudes, yesterday my own personal man from Mars responded to my email, and oh man, I was just beside myself with delight. He really does live on Mars though, I mean a long way away, but it's been a couple of years and the mere fact of a communication was alarming and wonderful. My email inbox has been so alarming lately.

Let's call him Schmitty, ok? I've been lingering over this little crush for ages, because he is cute and very witty and boyish, and (key) admires me and my writing. And he wants me to write back. Oh hooray, except that I was reluctant to write in the first place because I knew eventually I'd have the trouble of having to explain what the hell I'm doing with my life. No one seems to get that I'm 22 and ambitionless and moving to Philly just sounded like fun. I hate having that conversation, but I do, with everyone I meet. Blerh. Schmitty my man, only you understand me. Hopefully he's living in his parents' basement.

Tonight, you won't even believe, but Junebug and I had dinner at a hardcore fancypants hotel, where my Uncle Peter (cousin Derrick's father) was having a little celebration for his mother's 80th (I know his mom too, but no one else who was there). Kids, I laughed out loud when I saw the prices on the menu. Take the most you'd ever expect to pay for an entree, then double it. Last night I came back from a prolonged happy hour with the science geeks and ate ramen, tonight I had a 25-word item (sauteed black-feathered chicken with...something something terrine confit stewed tomatoes blah blah). Juney was sitting next to Uncle Peter when the check came and drunkenly (cause the wine flows when you're out with Uncle Peter) informed me as we were coming in our door tonight that the total bill (for 8 people) was..........$1400. No joke! Yes, folks, I will be first against the wall when the revolution comes, I know.

Back to happy hour with the science grad students on Friday....the first guy I met was drinking Guinness and seemed to have a very slight, untraceable accent. I thought maybe he was Irish, and I was almost positive he introduced himself to me as "Jelly Boy," which I thought was maybe some kind of weird-ass rugby nickname. As it turned out though, he was Velibor from Croatia. I liked hanging out with everybody, and of course having conversations with people who are not me or Juney for a change, though the talk always comes around to chemicals or lab animals or something and then I lapse into a coma briefly. It's a real buzzkill.

Roll Call of People Who Love Me Based on Email/Mail Delivery Day 6: SCHMITTY!

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )