http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Tuesday, Feb. 24, 2004 4:16 pm )

>Life, unscripted

Hi everyone! I no longer remember what I was writing about in my last entry, so I'm not quite sure what needs to be said today to fill you in on the last two weeks. However, I have come to two (2) very important realizations that may well impact the rest of my natural life. Okay. ONE is that I am in love with Call, madly and permanently, and I think we should get engaged. OK! People. Let's work through this together. I urge you not to think I am insane and delusional. For while I never before this thought I EVER wanted to get married or have kids, well, now I do. I don't know how to account for this utter flip-flop of feeling, given that I get the milk for free so I have no need to purchase the cow, if you will, and why not, except to say that I love him to a very full extent and think that we should exchange jewelry and cohabitate tout suite. However, I have no reason to believe he and I are on the same page on this one. See, so now I get to obsess about it for the next several years! Excellent.

Thing number TWO came to me as a result of slowly working my way through the complete works of Jane Austen: I do not want to work, at all. I want to live the independently wealthy lifestyle of young British country girls in 1809, and spend every day walking and reading and drawing and changing clothes and thinking about who I should marry. Granted, that is exactly what I do now, with the added benefit of not having to live with my parents, and being able to have my boyfriend drink beer on the couch and then sleep over, BUT if I could do all that without the interruption of bookstore work and cranky customers, all the better.

This is the least feminist entry I have ever written. What has happened to me?? Well, anyway, I'll work on regaining my Protestant work ethic, though the marriage fantasy might be a bit more lasting. Ah well.

Anyway, so last Saturday Call's parents were in town, so the four of us went out to dinner. I was a bit nervous and hence giggled quite a bit during the evening, especially when it was revealed that Call hated cheese as a child, which brought me almost to the point of hysteria, I found it so funny. Why, I ask you. Anyway, I think things went very well, and I liked his parents very much indeed, as they are both kind and sweet and earnest like their son, and I sat across from them realizing that they would make excellent grandparents for my children. You should really come to our weddding--the two of us with all our family and friends would be such a heartwarming occasion.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )