http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Wednesday, Jun. 02, 2004 10:02 am )

>Dreaming these dreams of you

My sleep has been kind of weird and interrupted lately, where I can't get to sleep for an hour or two even though I try to soothe myself by thinking of the character Queequeg from Moby Dick (to each his own), and then I wake up several times during the night to get a glass of water or just contemplate important things like song lyrics and assorted other characters in Moby Dick. Anyway, this morning I woke up in the early hours with a fully formed poem in my head, and since I didn't forget it right away, I made the effort to write it down. And then I read it when I woke up for real a little while ago:

The Truck round Peter's alarm clock crept
Collecting blue from the Mattress as he slept
And turned it into a thick-globed orb
Through which the alarm clock could not be heard.

Ummm, right. Does it help if I mention that my mattress is blue, and my old mattress was blue, and Call's was blue as well, although this color is not a quality one can harvest from one's mattress in order to encase one's alarm clock in a sound-dampening globe. Once recently I also woke out of a dream with a good sentence for a story, which was:

"He leaned forward like he'd never been here before in his life. And yet there w[ere] probably four or five pairs of his shoes here."

Sounded good when I was half-asleep. Now I'm like, "four or five pairs??"

Anyway, currently I am wide awake and thinking about getting around to all the chores I need to get done today. This afternoon I am tailgating and baseballing with a large crowd of science geeks. Go Phillies. I'll be damned if I'll play volleyball, but I'll be making friends with the veggie burgers and the kegs.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )