http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Friday, Jun. 06, 2003 3:34 pm )

>"I'm all screwed up but I feel alright"

Yesterday was the longest workday ever. I was tired and hungover to begin with, and eight hours of mild aggravation made me ready to beat myself to death with my own two shoes by the end of the shift. I sometimes realize, while I'm conducting business at the bookstore, that I am actively hating customers who choose to interact with me. Then I realize that's probably not good. Then I start spacing out again. The top people I hate dealing with at the bookstore are 1. well-dressed women (because they can't be bothered to treat me like a person, i.e. won't even answer my questions with a yes or no, but rather with a sad shake of the head like they are disappointed to have to be dealing with me), 2. crotchety elderly people (because they have a lot of requests and refuse to understand 75% of what you tell them), and 3. men who purposely drop their money on the counter when my hand is right there, extended to take it from their hands (these guys I am frequently tempted to jump over the counter and throttle). Also to those with crumpled money: JUST BUY A WALLET YOU FOOL! Yes, now I too am disgruntled, although on the positive side, I grow ever more enamored with the thwarted artists, musicians, computer geeks, professional students, and world travelers that I work with. They are so talented and smart and cool, and they say such funny things behind the customers' backs.

Anyway, now that that's out of the way...today's my day off, which I'm spending in the usual way: sleeping in, cleaning the house, grocery shopping, and doing laundry. I was supposed to go out to a semi-cultural, hoity-toity event with the Callster tonight, but since he had to work until a respectable hour, I believe we're making it a Blockbuster night instead. Probably better anyway since this weekend is going to be a lively one, and if I stay home tonight I will be more likely to be able to change my clothes the appropriate number of times (once per day. As opposed to when I stay at C.'s). Juney's old roommate is coming to town tomorrow, so I believe I'm going out out out with them and the science geeks after I work (late) on Saturday. Because I am a party girl. For serious.

I went out to Quizo with the science geeks and Cally on Wednesday and then walked to Call's place along with Christopher, discussing a horrible incident close to my neighborhood in which a homeless guy was attacking people with a pipe. And then a couple weeks ago someone Call knows was stabbed outside a bar approximately three blocks from my house. All things not to report to my mom, just like when I was at school and they arrested a serial killer five blocks from campus. Anyway, to get this story back on track to its destination, I wanted to tell you about how that night Call was sporting the tighty-whities (I've only been allowed to catch fleeting glimpses of them before) and proceeded to do the tighty-whitey dance for me (striking various muscle poses) and I about peed myself it was so funny.

I should really get my laundry show on the road, but maybe I'll put it off til tomorrow. Darn you, laziness. I kind of like going to the laundrymat though, because they recently instituted a shelf of used books there, and I usually read a crappy novel in increments when I go there (Into Thin Air, Bridges of Madison County, and currently I'm halfway through Message in a Bottle).

And finally, in two weeks I am set to work the Harry Potter midnight shift at work, and I am psyched. I want to see some craziness, people.

OK, wait, one last note: I LOVE YOU, NEW COUCH. You rock my world. In the words of Barry and Levon: "That ain't no couch; that ain't no sofa; oh no, that's a LOOOOOOOVE SEAT."

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )