http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Friday, May. 02, 2003 11:05 am )

>I'm high on life (hence the spacing out and over eating)

Hello there! So I took the day off today because my moms is coming this evening, and I have to have sufficient time to be a domestic goddess and clean and do laundry and bake muffins and what not. And also to plan our nightlife itinerary. Tonight: crepes and hole in the wall bar. Or can I still call them crepes? Freedom pancakes and good old Pennsylvanian beer, that is the plan.

I had to get a haircut on Wednesday, also in a bid to impress my mom, but I'm beginning to be overly skeeved by my 40-something straight-male North Philly hairdresser, who was again telling me about his relationship with his eighth grade girlfriend (she's not in eighth grade now, but rather they used to go out when they were 14). She sounds like bad news to me, but then he's told me he's pretty hard up (not in so many words, of course). Also, he doesn't cut my hair all that well, but he is four blocks from my home and for that I love him dearly.

Remember my complaints Tuesday night about Call standing me up in order to sleep? So we went out Wednesday instead. He too had gotten a haircut (extremely short, possibly in a bid to avoid getting another haircut for the longest possible time, although maybe he wouldn't have if he knew what messy hair on the opposite sex does for me). We had pizza (my idea) and later proceeded to my former favorite occupation, Quizo bar trivia with the science geeks. Except it was pretty terrible. We did terrible, I embarrassed myself with the stupidity of my guesses, and we didn't even place. Bad news. So anyway, going out drinking was already kind of a bad choice on my part, because I knew I had to get up at 5:30 to shelve at the bookstore, but I further compounded that by deciding to go home with Call afterwards. I could sort of justify it because he lives two blocks from where I work, so I wouldn't have to get up as early, but I never fell asleep all night long. Nevertheless, it was entirely worthwhile because he is so schnoogie and sweet and cute in the mornings when I have to get up early. I try to go into the other room and be quiet, but he gets up and follows me in there and puts his arms around me until I climb back in bed with him and he goes "let's play Let's Make Almostreally Late." As it turns out, I was right on time, in the same clothes as the day before and sequined flip flops, and smirking to myself as I carried around stacks of mass market paperbacks.

And then I came home and ate Cheese-its and showered and read and fell asleep for two hours in the afternoon sun. I made dinner for Juney and I, and she made brownies. I stayed up late reading some more. Best day ever.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )