http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Thursday, Sept. 19, 2002 11:58 pm )

>Narcissus and other reflections

Today I was in the painting zone. Juney and I finished the hallway today in a final push that demonstrated our extreme fortitude. I enjoyed myself immensely, listening to music and pursuing my repetitive task while thinking freely about important matters such as whether it would be cool, were I to meet Conan O'Brien, to tell him that "Max on Max" is horrifyingly funny, and "Joel on Joel with Joel Watching" even more so. I also mentally wrote a country song entitled "Narcissus, Go Soak Your Head," the chorus of which goes:

When it comes to deeper feelings,

I know this much is true:

You and I like me OK,

But both of us love you.

It sort of alarms me that the most interesting conversations I have all day are only in my head, which gives me the frequent problem of feeling like I have a very vibrant life, but being unable to account for it to other people, since the personal jokes I have with myself and all my imaginary experiences don't really count in real life. What a bummer. I can say for myself that I think I'm much improved lately in the ability to make small talk. You see, now that I am a grown-up, I'm no longer allowed to sit silently in a corner and let the adults smooth my conversational way for me. Again, bummer.

Today I bought groceries and then vegetables at the farmer's market. Feeling great comfort from my full closet o' food, I consumed, like, two rows of cookies just today.

Almost Really's Crush Corner:

Today's feature: tall red-headed lads! Of course, there is Conan, but also my little favorite man, Eric Stolz, and also, when sometimes, on TV, you see British men, grown men, all pale and wearing casual clothes in an unconvincing manner, and looking like they've definitely behaved very sportingly on the playing fields of Eton and now perhaps are scholars? Nice. (I spent a little time watching BBCAmerica this afternoon).

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )