http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Thursday, Sept. 11, 2003 12:26 pm )

>Bait and switch

Another two weeks without entries. Sorry about that. I actually have a new modem, sitting in my new room (more on this later), but I cannot figure out how to get the computer casing off to install it. I promise you it is not obvious. So now I'm only waiting for the right opportunity to corrall Call into doing it for me (computer geeks, hoorah) and then I'll be back to proper diaryland-obsession.

Also because of my modem situation, I recently missed a PERFECT opportunity to remote-stalk Schmitty, but I missed the tip-off email, hence his cuteness went unappreciated by me. It's unfortunate, since I have to rely mostly on impressions of him circa-me-at-19 to fuel the obsession. That may be difficult in the coming years, but I plan to perservere.

So Juney and I switched rooms this past weekend, and it's been weird so far. I wholeheartedly agreed to the move since my old room was really much better--bigger, three windows, front of house, big closet, hardwood floors--I'm sitting in it right now and it is spectacular. Anyway, her room isn't bad either, just only two windows, but it's pretty spacious as well. The only trouble is that we both can't sleep. I had thought maybe this year would be the one year that I wouldn't have to move all my stuff into a new place come August, but no, the rhythms of the school year still hit me. Ah well, a little change does me good.

Currently I'm waiting to receive in the mail an invitation to my cousin Derrick's wedding, to be held in St. Louis. I'm very excited for this event, not least because my money-burning-holes-in-his-pockets Uncle Peter is throwing a big party for us all beforehand. I've also heard that Call's name may actually be on the invitation which, OK, somewhat delights me. I've never been "and-guest"-ed before. ALMOSTREALLY PLUS ONE! It would be somewhat cruel of me to lean on him to go with me, to miss all that work and have to buy a plane ticket to a not-all-that-interesting city in the midwest and meet my extended family, all because I want him to take me to the imaginary prom in my head. I went to the prom with Juney, people, basically. Which was fun. But still, my mom bought me my corsage. Am I the saddest person ever? Did I just make you cry?

My new delight in life: The Shins CD.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )