http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Friday, Nov. 29, 2002 10:37 pm )

>The sweet kiss of failure

The thrill of victory, the agony of defeat: it goes as follows, and please do not mind the utter crappiness of this entry, I was temporarily insane:

Friday, 10:30 p.m.--I give up--Oh, fuck. The NaNoWriMo snovel isn't happening. I'm at my parents' house now and I was only able to do about 300 more words: it's impossible to work here. Maybe if I was home in Philly I could have made it, but not here. Ugh, I feel like such a loser! The novel sucks too. Oh well. I find some solace in knowing that refusal and edithpilaf, both witty and prolific authors in the diaryworld, aren't gonna make it to 50,000 either.

Blegh.

Friday, five minutes later--I become re-energized after realizing that others further behind than me are going for it.

Saturday, 8:30 p.m.--I settle in for the final push--refusal and edithpilaf are going for the gold (ok, refusal made it already) and I am too!!! I did about 6,000 last night, and now: six thousand words and three and half hours to go! Oh, holy shit.

Saturday, 11:39 p.m.--I cross the finish line holding a real shitty novella--VICTORY SNATCHED FROM THE JAWS OF DEFEAT! STUPID, VERY BAD NOVEL COMPLETED!!!!! FIFTY THOUSAND MOTHER-LOVING WORDS!!!! BWA HAHAHAHA! I finished and briefly did my impression of a fish on the end of a line, jumping in a highly undignified way. Hey kids, I rule!

Postscript: Edith and refusal made it too. They also rule.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )