http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Sunday, Nov. 24, 2002 11:51 pm )

>Aw, baby, I'd treat you right

Argh, woe, woe. The snovel is around 33,500 words and I've got miles to go before I sleep. Miles to go before I sleep! Today I did very little but sit in front of a blank computer screen. Oh, woe. Can I make it to 50,000? CAN I??

Interestingly, Juney reports that Anise is still stringing Cal along for reasons best known only to her and God. I had suspected and hoped possibly that she undercover-liked him, but it appears that she is simply a girl who can't say no, and she definitely doesn't like him. This is the kind of interesting science geek gossip that makes me go "Oooh!" with sustained pleasure and then "Awww!" with an extra kick of guilt because Cal is actually very very nice and smart and funny and not bad looking, and hence the type of guy who does not deserve to get kicked around by the likes of Anise. Poor boy. Last Friday the pockets of his pants were all distended and I wondered what impossibly heavy things he was carrying. He also paid for a cab and bought drinks for several people, including me (so perhaps the pockets were weighted down with friendliness and generosity). Anyway, Juney was out at the movies with Anise and--ok, her other friend in the program who I like about as much (read: not a whole lot) who I forget if I named already. Let's call her Nicole, shall we? June had asked me if I wanted to go and I was very relieved (but not out loud) that I said no when I heard that Anise and Nicole (and Cal as it turned out) were the ones going with her.

I guess that's enough gossip about people you don't know and I haven't mentioned before. I was thinking I should do a cast page, but nobody ever reads those anyway. It's just safe to assume that if it's a bunch of names where you can't recall having heard them already in here, it must be a random assortment of science geeks, and they're pretty much all alike. Rule of thumb...boy's name=someone I like spending time with, girl's name=someone I can tolerate spending time with, if only to achieve the proper balance of estrogen in a room full of geeky boys. I've only ever really had female friends, but when it comes to being in a group of people, the more males the merrier. Or something, I don't know. I just wish Juney hadn't singled out Anise and Nicole as her special buddies cause they are boring as dirt and strive to stay that way. Not even dorky!

Oh, and in the interest of truth telling, I wanted to inform you that I lied to Juney twice today.

Lie #1: I claimed to only have drunk one shot of orange vodka when she asked about the low level in the bottle, when in reality I had three over the weekend.

Lie #2: When she said she had trouble sleeping when she was sharing a bed with Matt, I claimed to have slept perfectly well when sharing with Nathan.

I am so deceptive!

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )